Budget Car Rental - Chicago O'hare International Airport - ORD - Illinois - USA

AirportBudget Car Rental - Chicago O'hare International Airport - ORD - Illinois - USA

 
1.7 (2) Verified Renter Rating®
 
5.0 (1) Unverified Renter Rating

Details

Address
Chicago O'Hare Airport
10000 Bessie Coleman Drive
Chicago - Illinois - USA
State
Illinois
Postcode
60666
Country
USA
Phone
800-621-2380
Emergency Number
773-894-1900
Latitude
41.9812852
Longitude
-87.8851447
Airport Service
On Airport - Counter & Car in Terminal

Currency/Tax/Deposit

Currency
USD - US Dollar

Vehicles/Fuel

Fuel Policy
Full to Full
Swap Start/End

Verified Renter reviews ®

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
1.7
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
2.5
Location Convenience 
 
1.3
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
2.3
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
2.0
Overall rating 
 
1.2
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
1.5
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.5
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.0

Worst Rental Experience of My LIfe

I'm not one to go on social media and write a poor review but something needs to be done. This was by far the worst rental experience of my life. Upon arrival at Budget, I found a terribly long line inside. With four customer service representatives behind the counter, it appeared that three of them were dealing with a complaint or troubled customer. With a 13 month old strapped to my body, I was looking for a quick rental experience. As I waited in line, I saw one employee in particular, shake his head in annoyance each time he walked away from a customer. I felt uncomfortable watching this. I did not like how he treated the customers or how he acted in front of other customers, such as myself, who were clearly watching while we waited. At this location, Budget shares the facility with Avis. An Avis representative helped me. I had prepaid for my reservation online. He offered an SUV upgrade for an additional $20/day. I declined as it would add an additional $100 to my bill. Within half a second, he had reduced the upgrade rate to $10/day. Thank you for the discount but why didn't you offer the discounted rate in the first place? I found the rental car to be filthy. It appeared that the car had only quickly been wiped down and not actually cleaned from the last customer. It was not worth the upgrade and I should have kept my original reservation for a full-size sedan. The car operated fine. No complaints there. When returning the car, the employee's handheld device could not find my reservation and I was told I needed to go inside to check-out. Again, with a small child, a car seat, a pack n' play, a large 49lb suitcase, a diaper bag, and another carry on bag... this was extremely frustrating. She brushed me and my needs off and told me it would only take "2 minutes". I entered the customer service office and found another long line full of other customers who were having other problems. Only one customer service representative was working behind the counter. He seemed stressed and was not friendly to the customers. When rushing to the airport to catch a flight, this is not an ideal situation. After 10 minutes of waiting, the employee who had told me "2 minutes" entered the space and appeared surprised to see me. She assisted me with the check-out process and I was on my way. At that point, I knew I never wanted to rent from Budget again. The level of customer service was terrible and I would rather pay more money for a clean car and friendlier experience. THINGS GET WORSE... I hopped on the rental car bus and rode to Terminal 3 at ORD. With a crowded bus and entirely too many belongings, I did not realize that I left my child's carseat on the bus until I was on my flight home!! I couldn't believe it and will admit that leaving the seat was my fault. However, I have called this location everyday since my return home and have not received a return call. In fact, no one will answer the phone!

LOST ITEM:
Recaro Child Seat. Black/gray/teal in color. Was in a red Gate Check bag with last name and two phone numbers.

MY ATTEMPT TO CONTACT BUDGET at ORD:

  • 8/22/16 - Left Voicemail (VM) on Lost and Found Line (Option 5 at 773-894-1900) 
  • 8/23/16 - Left VM on Lost and Found Line (Option 5 at 773-894-1900) 
  • 8/23/16 - Called a Budget phone number provided online and was provided 773-825-4609 to connect me to the store. 
  • 8/23/16 - Called 773-825-4609 to find this is not a working number. 
  • 8/23/16 - Called 800-621-2380. Surprisingly there was an answer. No "Hello". Simply a long annoyed sigh followed by a disconnect. Employee hung up on me. 
  • 8/23/16 - Called 800-621-2380 again. Waited 6 minutes and was hung up on again. 
  • 8/24/16 - Left VM on Lost and Found Line (Option 5 at 773-894-1900) 
  • 8/24/16 - Hours later called again. Left VM on Lost and Found Line (Option 5 at 773-894-1900) 
  • 8/24/16 - Found another number on the rental agreement copy I received when checking out. Avis. 773-825-4600. Left VM on Lost and Found Line. 
  • 8/24/16 - Googled Budget again and called Customer Service at 800-214-6094 to be provided the original non-working number (noted above). Asked for an alternative number. Was provided 773-825-4616 (yay, a new number). 
  • 8/24/16 - Called 773-825-4616. Connects directly to Lost and Found Line. UGH! Left another VM. 
  • 8/24/16 - Called 773-894-1900 to listed to all options past 5. Option 7 - Manager on Duty. Phone rang and rang and rang for minutes. No answer. 

I will continue to attempt to find human life at this location. I know there are people working there but why will someone not answer the phone? As a mother with a small child, I am making every attempt possible to get our car seat back. Being that I cannot get a hold of anyone is extremely upsetting. Where is the customer service? Where is my car seat? Why hasn't anyone called one of the two numbers listed on the car seat bag? Why isn't anyone answering the phone or calling me back!? Hello? I will never rent from Budget again. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
4.0
Location Convenience 
 
1.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.0

Horrible experience all-around

DO NOT RENT A CAR FROM THIS FACILITY. Not only did it take an hour to get our car, but now they are putting charges on our credit card that were not explained to us. They will deceive you into signing for services you don't want, and because you sign electronically, it's hard to see what you're signing for. Horrible customer service from the bottom up. We paid almost $1000 for a Nissan Rogue for 10 days that was barely driven anywhere. I wouldn't consider that a "budget" rental. We are telling everyone we know to avoid this place.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Unverified Renter Reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
5.0
Location Convenience 
 
5.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
5.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
5.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
5.0
Already have an account?
Ratings
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup
0 --> 10,000 miles/km = 5 stars 10,001 --> 20,000 = 4.5 stars 20,001 --> 30,000 = 4 stars 30,001 --> 40,000 = 3.5 stars 40,001 --> 50,000 = 3 stars 50,001 --> 60,000 = 2.5 stars 60,001 --> 70,000 = 2 stars 70,001 --> 80,000 = 1.5 stars 80,001 --> 90,000 = 1 star 90,001+ = 0.5 stars
Location Convenience
How easy was it to find and get to the location to pick up and drop off the car
Staff / Quality of Service
How were you treated? Consider knowledge, professionalism, friendliness, attitude, language skills
Vehicle Condition - Outside
Consider any damage, overall condition and cleanliness and any safety issues eg. Tyre wear
Vehicle Condition - Inside
Consider any damage, overall condition and cleanliness / odor
Comments
Service
You will be able to upload photos and video right after you submit your review if you wish.

We value your contribution and particularly your privacy. We will not rent or sell your email address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
5.0
Location Convenience 
 
5.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
5.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
5.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
5.0

No Problems

Most reviews are negative - those who experience no problems rarely bother to give a review as they are satisfied customers. I am one of those. Pre-paid booking, and it took about 20min to take possession of the Nissan Altima upgrade (+$5 a day). Car was clean & tidy. Did 1200 miles in 9 days, including an impulse diversion to Canada - checked in with the agent in Kalamazoo who supplied the extra insurance certificate. Took about 35 seconds to return, and straight on to the shuttle bus. No hidden charges or costs. Recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?