Hertz Car Rental - San Francisco International Airport - SFO - California - USA

AirportHertz Car Rental - San Francisco International Airport - SFO - California - USA

 
3.0 (2) Verified Renter Rating®
 
3.3 (2) Unverified Renter Rating

Details

Address
780 Mcdonnell Road
San Francisco - California - USA
State
California
Postcode
94128
Country
USA
Phone
6506246600
Latitude
37.6297797
Longitude
-122.4000691
Airport Service
On Airport - Consolidated Car Rental Facility
Is this a Corporate Location?
Yes Yes

Hours

Monday
Open 24 Hours
Tuesday
Open 24 Hours
Wednesday
Open 24 Hours
Thursday
Open 24 Hours
Friday
Open 24 Hours
Saturday
Open 24 Hours
Sunday
Open 24 Hours

Currency/Tax/Deposit

Cash / Debit Card Information
May be possible at the discretion of the station manager
Deposit
300.00 Minimum
Currency
USD - US Dollar

Vehicles/Fuel

Fuel Policy
Full to Full

Age/Drivers

Minimum Age
20 years
25 years for Prestige and Adrenaline Collections and select specialty vehicles
Young Driver Surcharge
15.00 per day for Groups A-G drivers aged 20-24
25.00 per day for other Groups drivers aged 20-24
Additional Drivers per Day
Free of charge

Insurance

CDW Price per Day
15.00
Collision Damage Waiver Excess
Zero
LIS Price per Day
13.95
Liability Insurance Supplement Excess
Zero
PAI Price per Day
5.95
Personal Accident Insurance Excess
Zero

Equipment

GPS Unit
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
GPS Price per Day
12.99
GPS Price per Week
90.93
Baby Capsule
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Baby Capsule Price per Day
11.99
Child Seat
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Child Seat Price per Day
11.99
Booster Seat
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Booster Seat Price per Day
11.99
Roof Racks
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Roof Racks Price per Day
14.00
Ski Racks
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Ski Racks Price per Day
14.00
Satellite Radio
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Satellite Radio Price per Day
5.00
Satellite Radio Price per Week
35.00
Portable DVD
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Portable DVD Price per Day
10.00
Portable DVD Price per Week
70.00

One Way Rentals

Domestic One Way Rental Information
Group A only permitted within Pick Up City
Generally not permitted with Groups H4/K/K4/M/P4/P6/S4/S6/U4/V/V4/V6/W/W6 unless specified below
Free of charge within California for Groups B/C/D/F/G/I/R/L/L4/Q4/U
Free of charge within Renting City for Groups A/E6/F6/T/T6
100.00 for groups P4/P6 between Prestige Collection locations within California
100.00 for Groups P4/P6 picked up at LAX/SFO and dropped off at LAS
150.00 for Groups E6/F6/H4/K/K4/S4/S6/V/W between Airport LAX/SAN/SFO
Other Drop Off charges based on distance from Pick Up Location
Outside Renting State - Groups B/C/D/F/G/I/R/L/L4/Q4/U = 50.00/0-250 miles | 100.00/251-500 miles | 300.00/501-1500 miles | 500.00/1501+ mil
Outside Renting City - Groups E6/F6 = 50.00/0-250 miles | 100.00/251-500 miles | 300.00/501-1500 miles | 500.00/1501+ miles
Outside Renting City - Groups T/T6 = 100.00/0-250 miles | 150.00/251-500 miles | 350.00/501-1500 miles | 550.00/1501+ miles
One Way never permitted to/from Alaska | Nantucket | Martha's Vinyard
International One Way Rental Information
Not allowed

T&Cs

Minimum Rental Duration
1 day
Maximum Rental Duration
62 days
Maximum Duration Comments
If more than 62 days are required, multiple reservations will be requred. Eg. A 62 day booking and an 8 day booking for 70 days total.
Mileage Allowed Per Day
Unlimited for Standard Car Groups | 100 miles for Specialty Groups - quoted during reservation
Roadside Assistance Available
Yes Yes
Roadside Assistance Price per Day
3.99
Driving Restrictions
Vehicles may be taken into Canada but must be returned in the US
Vehicles are not permitted into Mexico without special additional insurance
Vehicles may not be driven on poorly maintained or upaved roads
Grace Period
29 minutes
Swap Start/End

Verified Renter reviews ®

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
4.0
Location Convenience 
 
2.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
2.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
3.8
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.8
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
5.0
Location Convenience 
 
3.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
5.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
5.0

Hertz @ SFO

Booked in advance, and I am a gold member, so when I landed in San Fran (Tuesday morning), I had the car description and stall number. From the terminal there was a decent length walk to the light rail, and then about a 10 min ride on the train to the car rental area - not terrible but not ideal. All the counters were really busy, people everywhere, luckily I didnt have to deal with any of that, otherwise it wouldnt have been a good review. Went straight to the stall, car as described (Nissan Altima) got in in and proceeded to exit. Only one exit gate open, took quite a while to get out, attendant when I got there seemed nice and knowledgeable, so can only presume rookie rental drivers were holding everything up. Trip went well, returning the car (on a Thursday) was a breeze (again gold member just got out and left) otherwise there was a decent wait for an attendant to check you back in, train back to terminal all good. Car only had 151 miles on it... so pretty much brand new, no problems inside or out.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
3.0
Location Convenience 
 
1.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
2.5
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
2.5

No car available for a confirmed reservation

Had a confirmed reservation for a full size car at SFO on 26 Dec 2014. Reservation made four months earlier.

Arrived on time at SFO after a 12-hour flight from New Zealand. Chaos at the Hertz rental counter - "no cars available, try other companies". The manager blamed Head Office at Oklahoma City for continuing to take reservations when there were not enough cars, but hey, we had booked four months earlier. We tried other airport car rentals - nothing available.

We had to travel to our pre-booked accommodation in Carmel - the cheapest option was the Monterey Shuttle. Arrived four hours late after an uncomfortable ride in a packed shuttle van. Other passengers in the shuttle had also been turned away by Hertz.

After reaching hotel phoned Hertz Seaside (near Monterey) who initially said "no new rentals", but relented when we told them we had a confirmed and dishonored Hertz reservation from SFO. A car had been returned faulty (radio not working) and they allowed us to apply our reservation to it, and we were all set.

Now, Hertz's failure to honor our confirmed reservation left us out of pocket - the fare on the shuttle, taxi from hotel to Hertz Seaside, and the relocation or drop fee from Seaside to SFO (we had to return to SFO four days later).

I have written to Hertz's head office (Oklahoma City) with documentation of our extra costs. No reply. I am being ignored.

Have others had experience of arriving at Hertz with a confirmed reservation to be told they have no cars? What is the point of booking a car in advance if they don't have cars and tell you to go away? Yes, I am sure they have a few no-shows, but the benefit to them is that by taking advance reservations they get a good handle on likely demand, and also it steers customers towards them and away from the competition.

Isn't it reasonable to expect Hertz to pay for transport, from the pre-arranged pick-up point if there are no cars, to the renting location where the car is provided?

We contacted our insurance company who indicated this kind of unexpected event is not one you can insure against. Even though it can ruin your vacation with delay and extra expense, and is really a provider default.

Please note that if you book a car with Hertz they may not have a car for you, and then you are on your own.

It is really frustrating when you seek some kind of explanation/satisfaction by both postal mail and e-mail from Hertz to not even be replied to - I call that unprofessional and un-business-like.

Service

Mentionable Staff
Manager at SFO
Was this review helpful to you? 

Unverified Renter Reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.3
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
3.8
Location Convenience 
 
3.8
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.0
Already have an account?
Ratings
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup
0 --> 10,000 miles/km = 5 stars 10,001 --> 20,000 = 4.5 stars 20,001 --> 30,000 = 4 stars 30,001 --> 40,000 = 3.5 stars 40,001 --> 50,000 = 3 stars 50,001 --> 60,000 = 2.5 stars 60,001 --> 70,000 = 2 stars 70,001 --> 80,000 = 1.5 stars 80,001 --> 90,000 = 1 star 90,001+ = 0.5 stars
Location Convenience
How easy was it to find and get to the location to pick up and drop off the car
Staff / Quality of Service
How were you treated? Consider knowledge, professionalism, friendliness, attitude, language skills
Vehicle Condition - Outside
Consider any damage, overall condition and cleanliness and any safety issues eg. Tyre wear
Vehicle Condition - Inside
Consider any damage, overall condition and cleanliness / odor
Comments
Service
You will be able to upload photos and video right after you submit your review if you wish.

We value your contribution and particularly your privacy. We will not rent or sell your email address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
5.0
Location Convenience 
 
5.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
5.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
5.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
5.0

Customer

Our flight to Sacramento from San Francisco was cancelled. We came to Hertz and asked them if they had any discounts. The gentleman at the front desk went above and beyond. Thanks for the great experience.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
2.5
Location Convenience 
 
2.5
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.0

terrible experience

I wanted to bring to your attention a terrible customer service experience that I had.

I arrived at Hertz SFO, at approximately 9:35 AM on 7/25/15.
The first problem I had was that when I was at one of the kiosks, the person asked if I wanted a car with a GPS, and I said yes, and she put into a larger, more expensive car, without telling me.

Next, the car that I was given had a radio that did not work.
Two people in the garage gave me a new car, and told me, that when I exited, that they would take care of the paperwork.

That seemed to be the case, until, the attendant, Del Arracia, realized that I was not a gold member.

At that point he became abusive. He told me that I should have never have taken the car, and that he had lost all patience with me. I told him that the two people who gave me the car, had on Hertz uniforms. He then stated that anyone could have on a Hertz uniform, and that by not getting their names, I showed a total lack of common sense.

I went back to find a manager to get a third car, and that is when my problems started. First it took a ½ hour, to find a manager to help me.
I met with Sabrina Brown, and was given a third car. I left with the third car, and because of the all the confusion, I misplaced my license, or maybe handed it to Sabrina, and she did not return it.

In any event, I pointed out that a picture of my license was taken at the kiosk, and that they could verify that I had a license that way. Sabrina stated that the company was not sophisticated enough to be able to retrieve the picture. After some pushing she tried to contact her managers to see if they could find my picture, and no one got back to her. I asked if they could look in the cars I was in, for my license, but the records of what cars they had given me, were unavailable.

Finally, she said she would try and retrieve the picture of the license, and asked me to email her. I emailed her the next day, and got no response. I then called her the following day, and still got no response.

Was this review helpful to you?