Goldcar Car Rental - Palma de Mallorca Airport - PMI - Balearic Islands - Spain

AirportGoldcar Car Rental - Palma de Mallorca Airport - PMI - Balearic Islands - Spain

 
2.6 (3) Verified Renter Rating®
 
2.3 (4) Unverified Renter Rating

Details

Address
Palma de Mallorca Airport
Palma De Mallorca - Balearic Islands - Spain
Postcode
07071
Country
Balearic Islands - Spain
Phone
+34 965 233 181
Emergency Number
+34 902 105 293
Latitude
39.547444
Longitude
2.73031
Airport Service
On Airport - Counter & Car in Terminal
Is this a Corporate Location?
Yes Yes

Hours

Monday
07:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 23:00
Thursday
07:00 - 23:00
Friday
07:00 - 23:00
Saturday
07:00 - 23:00
Sunday
07:00 - 23:00
Drop Box for Returns
Yes Yes
After Hours Pickup
Yes - On Request Yes - On Request
After Hours Surcharge
37.00 - flight number essential

Currency/Tax/Deposit

Cash / Debit Card Information
Cash/Debit rentals are not possible
Only Visa and Mastercard are accepted
American Express | Diners Club | Postepay | Debit Cards - not accepted
Deposit
600.00 if additional insurance not purchased - See Insurance section
Currency
EUR - Euro

Vehicles/Fuel

Fuel Policy
Full to Empty
Additional Fuel Information
Flex Fuel is our new fuel system, in which unused fuel reimbursement will apply to ALL reservations. This system has many advantages: flexibility, time and money saver, it will give you access to special offers and low rates in this website and there is no need to refuel the vehicle before it is returned. The cost for Flex Fuel including the fuel tank is charged upon arrival. Fuel reimbursement will be processed at the exact moment of dropping off the vehicle. The price will depend on the fuels market value on the days before the start of the rental period, the vehicle model, the tanks capacity and the type of fuel recommended by the vehicle manufacturer. The price for a fuel tank is based on the average price in the most and least expensive fuel stations around the province of Alicante (for rentals from Spain and the Balearics) and around Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, (for rentals from any of our offices based on the Canary Islands) in accordance to the prices published by the Ministry of Industry, Energy and Tourism found here. You can check the approximate price per car group using the links below. The total up front charge = tank capacity x price per litre + Flex Fuel service charge. Refunds will apply to the remaining fuel to the nearest 1/8th of a tank.
Unleaded Fuel Price
Diesel Fuel Price
Vehicle Types Available
  • Manual / Stick Shift
  • Automatic Transmission
  • Estate / Stationwagon
  • Minivan / People Carrier
  • Prestige / Luxury
Diesel Vehicle Availability
Yes - On request for some car groups Yes - On request for some car groups
Automatic charge if car delivered is diesel
Diesel Fee per Day
2.00 per day

Age/Drivers

Minimum Age
21 years
Must have had a licence for min 1 year
Maximum Age
NA
Additional Drivers per Day
4.50 per day per driver
Additional Drivers per Rental
54.00 per rental - 3 max

Insurance

CDW Price per Day
Included in rental price
Collision Damage Waiver Excess
Zero
100.00 Accidents Administration Fee applies in case of damage if SDW is not purchased on arrival
CDW does not cover damage to tyres, tyre rims, vehicle interior, outside rear view mirrors, glass, underside, or damage to the clutch
CDW does not cover fees for recharging the battery, loss of keys, tow truck or transfer by taxi after an accident
CDW does not cover deposit for replacement vehicle or compensation for the days the vehicle cannot be used due to repairs.
These risks may be covered in full or in part by taking out further cover (SDW) when collecting your vehicle.
Super CDW Price per Day
When arriving at the office to collect the vehicle, you will be able to extend your level of cover if desired. The fee and the excess waiver (where applicable) will vary depending on the destination, season, vehicle type and rental period.
Super CDW Excess
Zero
Theft Protection Price per Day
Included in rental price
Theft Protection Excess
Zero
100.00 Administration Fee applies in case of theft if SDW is not purchased on arrival
WI Price per Rental
Included as part of Super CDW
Windscreen Insurance Excess
Zero

Equipment

GPS Unit
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
90.00 deposit required
GPS Price per Day
8.50
GPS Price per Rental
85.00
GPS Replacement Price
90.00
Baby Capsule
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Baby Capsule Price per Day
5.35
Baby Capsule Price per Rental
65.00
Child Seat
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Child Seat Price per Day
5.35
Child Seat Price per Rental
65.00
Booster Seat
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Booster Seat Price per Day
5.35
Booster Seat Price per Rental
65.00
Snow Chains
No No
Mobile Wifi
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Mobile Wifi Replacement Price
80.00 deposit taken

One Way Rentals

Domestic One Way Rental Information
One way rentals between Goldcar offices on Mallorca may be available.
These must be requested and confirmed at the time of reservation.
Additional charges may apply.
International One Way Rental Information
Not allowed
Permitted Cross Border Travel
It is not allowed to travel outside the Balearic Islands including Ceuta and Melilla
Forbidden Cross Border Travel
Travel to other islands in the Balearics is allowed only if additional Travel Cover is purchased at the rates shown below.
Cross Border Additional Fees
8.50 per day
Minimum 22.00 per rental
Maximum 66.00 per rental

T&Cs

Maximum Rental Duration
89 days
Mileage Allowed Per Day
Unlimited
Roadside Assistance Available
Yes Yes
Roadside Assistance Price per Day
Included
Roadside Assistance Price per Rental
Ph +34 902 105 276 - 24 hours
Loss of Keys Charge
Up to 280.00 plus tax
Loss of Registration Charge
Up to 280.00 plus tax
Loss of Licence Plate Charge
Up to 280.00 plus tax
Extraordinary Cleaning
150.00 plus tax
Fine Handling Charge
40.00 plus tax
Claim Administration Charge
Up to 150.00 plus tax
Cancellation Policy
A FULL REFUND will be processed if bookings are cancelled more than 1 hour before the pickup time.
NO REFUND for cancellations received less than 1 hour before the pickup time
No Show Fee
No refund for no-shows
Grace Period
59 minutes

Notes

The regional government of the Balearic Islands' current laws require island-based car rental companies to apply a new self-drive car hire tax on all car rentals. The tax is charged according to the hired vehicle's CO2 emissions. At the time this notice is announced, the tax is:
If vehicle is returned after the 59 minute grace period, a charge of 40.00 plus an extra days rental will apply. On the other hand, if a client does not receive their car within 59 minutes of signing a rental agreement, Goldcar will compensate the client. Even in the case of a re-directed flight, if a client collects the car from a station that is different from that originally booked, an additional charge of 60.00 will apply.
Swap Start/End

Verified Renter reviews ®

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
2.6
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
3.7
Location Convenience 
 
2.3
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.7
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
5.0
Location Convenience 
 
1.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
5.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
5.0

Legal theft

At the desk GOLDCAR at Palma de Mallorca airport I paid 281 euros (118 I was reimbursed for the fuel) for a super cover and mega relax cover that I never asked despite Miss (no one spoke Italian!) Spanish told me not to Was a payment and that the refund would take place within 7 hours after the car's return. Behavior very desperate as it already knew that I had already paid the car and full coverage at Rentalcars! I was worn out and since it's not the first time that car hire abroad I think I was cheated for the lack of fairness from the Goldcar bench in Palma de Mallorca airport. I've read many negative reviews about you and I was hoping they were not true but I have to recompense. I also work in commerce but behaving so is very incorrect! ‏ — at Palma de Mallorca Airport (PMI), 07611 Palma, Illes Balears, Spain feeling angry

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
1.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.0

Goldcar nightmare

Do not book Goldcar. I have reserved a car with them for a forthcoming holiday in Mallorca. I need to modify my booking. It is impossible. It is also impossible to cancel despite their so called free cancellations policy. No one ever answers any of the phone lines. Now having read all the other negative reviews about Goldcar, I wish that I had never come across them. I am flying to Mallorca with a sense of dread.

Service

Comments
Impossible to contact any staff - do they exist?
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear Lawyer1,

We apologize for the delay in our response. Please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for any technical issue related to the website. Booking cancellations are indeed free of change 24 hours prior to collection time. We hope that everything went well at the counter and that you are enjoying your rental and your stay in Mallorca.

Kindest regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
5.0
Location Convenience 
 
5.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
5.0

AVOID GOLDCAR! IT'S A SCAM!

Do yourself a favor and google 'goldcar review' before booking with them. Or look at twitter-account @GoIdcar_Victims.
We chose goldcar because rentalcars.com presented them as being the cheapest by far. It turned out to be a scam.
When we wanted to pick up the car at Palma de Mallorca airport we had to wait in line for 1,5 hours (on 10 april; low season).
We would have had to wait an hour longer if we hadn't used the "express lane". This cost us an additional €20,-. We were told that the queue is always that long, day and night.
The main reason it takes so long is because by the time it's your turn you're pressured aggressively and repeatedly to take the goldcar insurance that will set you back an extra €148.
They claim that the insurance bought online is not all-risk (which was not true). When we repeatedly said we were happy with our current insurance goldcar required a €1.200 surety on my creditcard. Ok. We also had to pay in advance for a full fuel tank. When dropping the car the remainder of the fuel would be repaid automatically.
As you may have guessed by now: nothing was repaid although fuel was left in the tank. No response to e-mail and twitter messages.
Still we feel we were lucky; we've read so many horror story online about these crooks that we count our blessings; many customers discovered strange credit card deductions by goldcar afterwards. This is the reason why only now, after receiving the final receipt of rentalcars.com, I feel save to write this review.
For an additional few bucks a day I would've preferred a real rental car company. Would have saved me a lot of time and aggravation. And stress afterwards, checking my credit card charges. I do not understand how goldcar is awarded a 7 on rentalcars.com, daughter of booking.com. What astonishes me the most is that this kind of 'service' still exists in 2015. How can it be that goldcar.com is still in business?

Service

Comments
Staff is rude, aggresive and unreliable.
Waiting for two hours to pick up the goldcar rental car...
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear newhouse,

We are sorry to hear that your rental with us in Palma de Mallorca was not as expected. Please allow me to respond to your review point by point:

1) Please note that the prices advertised on our webpage and on brokers’ are only the basic rental charge. The only mandatory charge at destination is a full tank of fuel. This is common practice in the sector.

2) We do experience peak times during high season, especially if two flights overlap due to delays. This is intensified by the lack of knowledge regarding the car rental procedure. We are trying to solve this by opening auxiliary offices and explaining the process in detail when and where possible. In any case, you shouldn’t have had to wait so long in the Priority Check-in line; please send me your contract number at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and I will look into a refund.

3) Our basic coverage always contemplates an excess (please copy/paste the following link on your browser for screenshots of our webpage during the booking process and of our T&Cs: http://bit.ly/1F6S83R, http://bit.ly/1JH9t4x). If customers have third party coverage, they can request a refund from them in case of damages, although it is never as comprehensive as our own additional coverage.

4) You should have been refunded for unused fuel, that it is highly irregular. I will make sure you are refunded when I receive your contract number.

Please note that our prices are among the most competitive in the rental-car sector; offering +37,000 vehicles in offices in Spain, Andorra, Portugal, Italy, Malta and Morocco, serving more than 1 million customers a year (less than 1% of which complain online). Most negative reviews online are outdated; we have considerably improved our services and polices since the beginning of 2014, and are continuing to do so. We are working very hard to constantly improve our services and it reflected by the fact that the vast majority of our customers are satisfied and return customers.

Kindest regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Was this review helpful to you? 

Unverified Renter Reviews

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
2.3
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
2.5
Location Convenience 
 
1.8
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
3.4
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.4
Already have an account?
Ratings
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup
0 --> 10,000 miles/km = 5 stars 10,001 --> 20,000 = 4.5 stars 20,001 --> 30,000 = 4 stars 30,001 --> 40,000 = 3.5 stars 40,001 --> 50,000 = 3 stars 50,001 --> 60,000 = 2.5 stars 60,001 --> 70,000 = 2 stars 70,001 --> 80,000 = 1.5 stars 80,001 --> 90,000 = 1 star 90,001+ = 0.5 stars
Location Convenience
How easy was it to find and get to the location to pick up and drop off the car
Staff / Quality of Service
How were you treated? Consider knowledge, professionalism, friendliness, attitude, language skills
Vehicle Condition - Outside
Consider any damage, overall condition and cleanliness and any safety issues eg. Tyre wear
Vehicle Condition - Inside
Consider any damage, overall condition and cleanliness / odor
Comments
Service
You will be able to upload photos and video right after you submit your review if you wish.

We value your contribution and particularly your privacy. We will not rent or sell your email address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Overall rating 
 
3.2
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
5.0
Location Convenience 
 
1.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
5.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
5.0

WORST CAR RENTAL EVER

Such a legal SCUM! After having a look on the internet I found out so many bad reviews and articles about GOLDCAR. http://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/advice/Is-this-the-worlds-worst-car-hire-horror-story/ https://www.theguardian.com/money/2016/sep/11/goldcar-travel-insurance-car-hire-sales-damage-waiver When we got there we found out that the insurance we had made on the internet didn't cover our car damages, even if in the internet was saying it would have covered us against any accident (READ THE GUARDIAN ARTICLE ABOVE) we then decided not to make another one. As soon as we informed the employee she was scaring us with possible damages the car could have experienced in Palma, saying that is very dangerous, listing the prices of any little damage (Window 200£, scratch 250£... sure the employee gets commission for extra insurance). We told them we didn't want to get one and she got so angry that she sent us to the other office in the same airport, refusing to let us collect the car. We went to the other office and we decided to make the insurance, just to avoid any further discussion and problems (they wanted to take 1500£ in advance from our cards in case of accidents). We returned the car at the end of the holidays and we flew back home After few days I checked my debit card to see if they have refunded me the deposit taken for the fuel and I noticed 30£ were missing. I sent them an email and they said they overcharged us cause of the condition of the car. We have left the car in more than a decent conditions, there was some sand inside but mallorca is an island and we clearly went to the beach. I am more than sure that they didn't spend more than what they normally have to clean the car we rented, we didn''t leave any permanent stain therefore they didn't use any special product neither. At the end we ended up paying the car 170£ more than the original price and we spent there 2 30H in the airport. If you want a hassle free holiday AVOID GOLD CAR

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear Alessandro,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us was not as expected. However, please let me explain you how our coverage policy works. We always make the customer choose from two different options: you can purchase our additional coverage or you can leave a deposit in which you'll be liable of any damage made to the car, as our agent explained you at the counter.


We are aware that third parties offer customers their own coverage, as in your case, but it should be explained that this coverage is only applied when a charge is debited from the deposit left by the customer to the rent-a-car company - this is how the third party's coverage policy works.


That’s why our agent told you that we would charge you any damage made to the car if anything happens and we're not aware of the conditions of the third party's coverage refund.


Therefore, we'll always offer our additional coverage to the customer for their peace of mind because thanks to it, the customer will be fully protected in case of an accident and we won't be liable if any damage is made to the car.




I hope this information has been useful.


Please let me know if you have further queries so I can help.


Kindest regards,
Victoria

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
3.0
Location Convenience 
 
1.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
4.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
4.0

NEVER AGAIN

Oh my goodness! NEVER AGAIN! I booked on the Jet2 site, so assumed they were OK - I will also be leaving negative feedback for Jet2 for associating with them. We waited over an hour to be served. You have to queue to get a ticket (from an operator who is also serving people who have already been queuing, so are angry that you're interrupting to get a ticket) only to return to the end of the queue so you can EVENTUALLY be served! You have no idea how much they're going to charge, you're bullied into taking extra insurance - even though I thought I'd covered that with the online booking. I've yet to dare to see what my credit card bill is. The operator then sent me to the wrong place to collect - behind the coffee bar (she said) we were trailing around like idiots looking for GOLDCAR Bay 6. The GOLDCAR staff couldn't understand us and clearly couldn't be bothered. Either didn't understand English speaking customers or pretended not to understand. We were desperate to get out of the airport and start our holiday - so by the time we actually set off - we'd been in the airport for approximately an hour and a half.

Service

Mentionable Staff
None - they couldn't care less
Comments
They are the worst car hire company I have ever dealt with. DO NOT USE THEM! I have hired cars for several years at various points across the world and this was the worst experience ever. The car was fine and I have no idea what the mileage was when I got in it. I was so stressed and anxious when I got in it - I didn't take a note of the mileage. The only thing that springs to mind is I couldn't turn the radio off - very irritating when you're trying to concentrate on listening/watching a sat nav guide you.
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear Macmillan,

Thanks for your review. We're constantly improving services and process and our customer's opinion is key to achieve it.

We’re very surprised with your comment. Our staff is trained to offer an efficient, personalized, satisfactory and polite customer's attention.

Please let me explain we make daily arrival plannings but, unfortunately, there are mishaps out of our control, such a delay of a flight for example.
Also we offer a personalized customer service, and for that reason some customers need more attention time than others.


Nevertheless, I'm happy to tell you we're working hard to open new branch offices to reduce waiting time of our customers and inconvenience due to it.


Anyway I would like to explain you we have a Priority Check-in service you can add during the booking process. With this service you don't need to worry about queues, because there is an exclusive desk for it.

Regarding the coverage, please let me explain our clients have two options of coverage. First of all, you can choose a basic rental. With this rate it is needed to leave a deposit that remains blocked in your credit card until the day you return the car. If, unfortunately, the car has any damage, amount of repair costs will be deducted from the excess fee initially blocked.


On the other hand you have Super Relax coverage, with which you don't have to worry about anything because all incidents may happen are covered. You have more information of that here: (http://bit.ly/1sOkTk0).


We always recommend our clients to take out Super Relax cover for their own safe and tranquility on the road, but they're completely free to decide about it.



Kindest regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative


Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
1.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.0

Complete scam and broke the contract to supply vehicle

On arrival at the desk I gave the guy my pre paid invoice and my credit card for the fuel policy . After login in my drivers licence he said that's 330 euros to which I said what's that for he then stated that there was no insurance cover with this car hire and the fuel pre pay is 130 euros for a fiat punto . I said where does it say no insurance to which he just shrugged his shoulders and said the amount again I stated t says pre pay fuel for a bb car was 47-60 euros he shrugged again .i then asked again so there is no insurance with this car at all he then said 3rd party but still refused to give me the car without paying the insurance .by this point my wife said we don't want the car we will get a taxi! This seemed to throw him back ,he then said I will knock 30 percent of the insurance to which I said I don't want insurance ,he then said I could pay a 2000 euro deposit for the car which seems really high it quoted on there web site between 950 to 1900 depends on the car .it was a fiat punto lol so we decided to leave the car hire and get a taxi and loose our pre paid money seemed the best option with this bunch of thieves . do not use this company at any cost .

Service

Mentionable Staff
The rude bloke with the beard
Comments
So far up his own ....
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear Darwich,

Thanks for your review. We're constantly improving services and process and our customer's opinion is key to achieve it. On the issue you described, please let me explain that initial prices offered on our websites are for basic rental. Then, our customers are free to add as many services as they need, with the consequent increase of the price. But it any case the decision of adding an extra depends only on them.

Anyway, I recommend you to sent us an email on This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. in order to study further your case.

Regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
4.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
3.5
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.5

The Goldcar rental scam

The car was fine but the service was awful - had to wait in a queue for more than an hour late at night- no fast track service for pre-booked cars. Also the have a way of extracting money from tired travellers in the form of a bond which supposedly will be returned on safe return of the car even though I had already paid for full insurance. They then avoid reimbursement when the car is returned saying it will be repaid via the card used for the payment. This is dishonest so please avoid using them

Service

Comments
Poor, unhelpful, just seem intent on getting money from you
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Hello Rushta,

Please allow me to explain that we try to offer the best service. In occasions the clients ask for further information and our agents will explain everything in detail. This sometimes affects the waiting time.

We always offer a priority check in. Customer can simply approach one of our agents and ask them for this service.

When picking up the car, there are 2 options: First of all, you can choose a basic rental. With this rate it is needed to leave a deposit that remains blocked in your credit card until the day you return the car. If, unfortunately, the car has any damage, amount of repair costs will be deducted from the excess fee initially blocked.


On the other hand you have Super Relax coverage, with which you don't have to worry about anything because all incidents that may happen are covered. You have more information of that here: (http://bit.ly/1sOkTk0).

Thank you,
Regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative


Was this review helpful to you?