Goldcar Car Rental - Malaga Airport - AGP - Spain

AirportGoldcar Car Rental - Malaga Airport - AGP - Spain

 
3.1 (2) Verified Renter Rating®
 
2.2 (3) Unverified Renter Rating

Details

Address
Malaga Airport
Malaga - Spain
Postcode
29004
Country
Spain
Phone
+34 965 233 173
Emergency Number
+34 902 105 286
Latitude
36.682772
Longitude
-4.502184
Airport Service
On Airport - Counter & Car in Terminal
Is this a Corporate Location?
Yes Yes

Hours

Monday
07:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 23:00
Thursday
07:00 - 23:00
Friday
07:00 - 23:00
Saturday
07:00 - 23:00
Sunday
07:00 - 23:00
Drop Box for Returns
Yes Yes
After Hours Pickup
Yes - On Request Yes - On Request
After Hours Surcharge
37.00 - flight number essential

Currency/Tax/Deposit

Cash / Debit Card Information
Cash/Debit rentals are not possible
Only Visa and Mastercard are accepted
American Express | Diners Club | Postepay | Debit Cards - not accepted
Deposit
600.00 if additional insurance not purchased - See Insurance section
Currency
EUR - Euro

Vehicles/Fuel

Fuel Policy
Full to Empty
Additional Fuel Information
Flex Fuel is our new fuel system, in which unused fuel reimbursement will apply to ALL reservations. This system has many advantages: flexibility, time and money saver, it will give you access to special offers and low rates in this website and there is no need to refuel the vehicle before it is returned. The cost for Flex Fuel including the fuel tank is charged upon arrival. Fuel reimbursement will be processed at the exact moment of dropping off the vehicle. The price will depend on the fuels market value on the days before the start of the rental period, the vehicle model, the tanks capacity and the type of fuel recommended by the vehicle manufacturer. The price for a fuel tank is based on the average price in the most and least expensive fuel stations around the province of Alicante (for rentals from Spain and the Balearics) and around Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, (for rentals from any of our offices based on the Canary Islands) in accordance to the prices published by the Ministry of Industry, Energy and Tourism found here. You can check the approximate price per car group using the links below. The total up front charge = tank capacity x price per litre + Flex Fuel service charge. Refunds will apply to the remaining fuel to the nearest 1/8th of a tank.
Unleaded Fuel Price
Diesel Fuel Price
Vehicle Types Available
  • Manual / Stick Shift
  • Automatic Transmission
  • Estate / Stationwagon
  • Minivan / People Carrier
  • Prestige / Luxury
Diesel Vehicle Availability
Yes - On request for some car groups Yes - On request for some car groups
Automatic charge if car delivered is diesel
Diesel Fee per Day
2.00 per day

Age/Drivers

Minimum Age
21 years
Must have had a licence for min 1 year
Maximum Age
NA
Young Driver Surcharge
4.50 per day - under 25 years
54.00 maximum per driver per rental
Also applies if licence held less than 4 years
Additional Drivers per Day
4.50 per day per driver
Additional Drivers per Rental
54.00 per rental - 3 max

Insurance

CDW Price per Day
Included in rental price
Collision Damage Waiver Excess
Zero
100.00 Accidents Administration Fee applies in case of damage if SDW is not purchased on arrival
CDW does not cover damage to tyres, tyre rims, vehicle interior, outside rear view mirrors, glass, underside, or damage to the clutch
CDW does not cover fees for recharging the battery, loss of keys, tow truck or transfer by taxi after an accident
CDW does not cover deposit for replacement vehicle or compensation for the days the vehicle cannot be used due to repairs.
These risks may be covered in full or in part by taking out further cover (SDW) when collecting your vehicle.
Super CDW Price per Day
When arriving at the office to collect the vehicle, you will be able to extend your level of cover if desired. The fee and the excess waiver (where applicable) will vary depending on the destination, season, vehicle type and rental period.
Super CDW Excess
Zero
Theft Protection Price per Day
Included in rental price
Theft Protection Excess
Zero
100.00 Administration Fee applies in case of theft if SDW is not purchased on arrival
WI Price per Rental
Included as part of Super CDW
Windscreen Insurance Excess
Zero

Equipment

GPS Unit
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
90.00 deposit required
GPS Price per Day
8.50
GPS Price per Rental
85.00
GPS Replacement Price
90.00
Baby Capsule
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Baby Capsule Price per Day
5.35
Baby Capsule Price per Rental
65.00
Child Seat
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Child Seat Price per Day
5.35
Child Seat Price per Rental
65.00
Booster Seat
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Booster Seat Price per Day
5.35
Booster Seat Price per Rental
65.00
Snow Chains
No No
Mobile Wifi
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Mobile Wifi Replacement Price
80.00 deposit taken

One Way Rentals

Domestic One Way Rental Information
One way rentals between Goldcar offices may be available.
These must be requested and confirmed at the time of reservation.
Additional charges may apply.
International One Way Rental Information
May be allowed between Goldcar locations in Spain, Italy and Portugal
Additional Charges may apply.
Request when making reservation
Permitted Cross Border Travel
Travel is allowed into Portugal, France, Andorra and Gibraltar
Forbidden Cross Border Travel
Travel into Portugal and/or Gibraltar is allowed only if additional travel cover is purchased at the rates shown below.
Cross Border Additional Fees
8.50 per day
Minimum 22.00 per rental
Maximum 66.00 per rental

T&Cs

Maximum Rental Duration
89 days
Mileage Allowed Per Day
Unlimited
Roadside Assistance Available
Yes Yes
Roadside Assistance Price per Day
Included
Roadside Assistance Price per Rental
Ph +34 902 105 276 - 24 hours
Loss of Keys Charge
Up to 280.00 plus tax
Loss of Registration Charge
Up to 280.00 plus tax
Loss of Licence Plate Charge
Up to 280.00 plus tax
Extraordinary Cleaning
150.00 plus tax
Fine Handling Charge
37.00 plus tax
Claim Administration Charge
Up to 150.00 plus tax
Cancellation Policy
A FULL REFUND will be processed if bookings are cancelled more than 1 hour before the pickup time.
NO REFUND for cancellations received less than 1 hour before the pickup time
No Show Fee
No refund for no-shows
Grace Period
59 minutes

Notes

Self-drive car hire parking sites are on floors 0 and -1 of P2 (for vehicle pick up) and floors -1 and -2 of P1 (for vehicle drop off). Parking for more than 30 minutes is not recommended. You have direct access to the terminals at the Malaga-Costa del Sol airport. You'll find all the amenities and security in the area closest to the T2 and T3 departures.
If vehicle is returned after the 59 minute grace period, a charge of 37.00 plus an extra days rental will apply. On the other hand, if a client does not receive their car within 59 minutes of signing a rental agreement, Goldcar will compensate the client. Even in the case of a re-directed flight, if a client collects the car from a station that is different from that originally booked, an additional charge of 55.00 will apply.
Swap Start/End

Verified Renter reviews ®

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.1
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
4.3
Location Convenience 
 
4.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
4.0
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
3.5
Location Convenience 
 
5.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
3.5
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
4.0

LIED, SCAREMONGERED & COERCED

I carried out all my due diligence re car rental before travelling and purchased an annual Vehicle Hire Insurance policy from Questor to cover my car rental in Malaga. Upon arriving at the car hire desk off a late flight from Glasgow my wife and I, both Senior Citizens, were subjected to a barrage of pressure and scaremongering from your customer service representative. Despite producing our insurance policy and explaining that we were legally insured and had additional cover YOUR employee pressured us, harassed us and scared us beyond belief, to the point that we had no choice but to pay 169 euros. This was all in front of our two grandchildren. LIE 1 - Your insurance policy is no good LIE 2 - You if have an accident you will pay 20,000 euros - he actually wrote this on a piece of paper! He barraged us with how we would be completely on our own without any help whatsoever, making it sound worse than the reality of the situation. Exhausted, worn down and in order to just get away and start our holiday, with our two young grand-daughters, my wife insisted that I paid the money. We were completely mis-sold this insurance and bullied by the staff member as we did not need this product. He abused our trust.

Service

Mentionable Staff
Piotr Daniel
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Good morning Etierney,

We are sorry to know that one of our employees push you to contract an extra insurance. We want to know more about your case, so, if you are so kind to sent us an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with your booking number and a little expanations about the commented setback we will study further it and try to find a solution.

Regards,
Vicotoria R.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
5.0
Location Convenience 
 
3.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
2.5
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
4.0

GOLDCAR is the worst scam in rental business

I rented a vehicle directly via the GOLDCAR website prior to a short trip to Andalusia. I needed the car for only one day and needed to save time so I chose a rental station located in the terminal.

The Ford Fiesta I rented was advertised on their website for EUR 14.99 inluding full insurance and free miles. And the car itself was the only good thing about this.

Because what happened to me during pickup was the same as hundreds of other reviewers throughout the internet have experienced:

The clerk at the desk told me that I needed an extra insurance against damages to the car for a surplus of 45 EUR. Three times the price of the complete rental!!

I claimed that I already had paid for that insurance as it was described in the advertisement and the booking process. The clerk then said that this insurance only covers basic damages but not -amongst many others- broken windscreens. I know how quickly you can get a rock chipped at your windshield and how expensive they are. First I denied getting extra insurance. The clerk said, in this case I would have to deposit 500 EUR with my credit card. Or, if I wanted to cancel my booking now, they would charge me a fee of 37 EUR.

So, instead of paying 14.99 plus 37 EUR for nothing and still having to rent a more expensive car somewhere else, I reluctantly agreed to pay the insurance and handed him over my credit card to pay.

It was only then that the clerk said, he would have to charge me another 110 EUR for the full tank of fuel. I was shocked and asked how this would be possible to have a Ford Fiesta with 110 EUR worth of Diesel in the tank. He replied that they charge more as the fuel price includes a service fee, but I wouldn't have to worry, because I would get a refund for the unused fuel when I return the car. Their so-called "flex fuel tariff" was the fairest and best tariff on the market. However, there was not a single word on those costs in their advertisement, nor in the booking process, nor in their terms and conditions. So I thought to myself, that if I return the car full, the usage would be ZERO and I would get a full refund.

Together with the rental price and the insurance they now charged 166 EUR from my credit card. Mind you: I had expected to pay only 15. So it was now TEN TIMES as much as advertised.

Another scammy detail: When I booked the car online I was considering returning it on the same day before going to my hotel at the airport, as my flight home was in the early morning of the next day. So during booking I entered the date from Jan., 10th 2014, 10am to Jan., 10th 2014 8pm.

I asked the clerk about the return of the car. How long the office would be open and what would happen if I wouldn't make it back in time. He said again, that I shouldn't worry, as I had rented the car for a minimum of 24 hours. So if I wouldn't make it until they close the office at 11pm. I should only drop the keys in their mailbox and I would be safe, as my flight was leaving at 7am the next morning, and the car was rented until 10am of that morning.

But: The rental contract, which he gave me, stated the hour of return that I had entered in the booking form. As I wasn't worried about the return time, I kept the car until the next morning and returned it -with a full tank!!- at 5:45am, long before their office opened, and dropped the keys into their mailbox as I was told.

A few days later came the balance invoice:
- Refund for the fuel: 77 EUR
- Surcharge for delayed return: 54 EUR

I immediately objected to that invoice by e-mail, explaining long and with copies of their own FAQ section about rental times and fuel tariffs, that I had never been informed about the costs they charged at any time and that I would render them invalid, and that I claimed back the surcharge of 54 EUR as well as the difference between the refund of 77 EUR and the 110 EUR I had paid. That was 87 EUR altogether.

Their customer service was the worst experience I had in my life. It took them days to reply. Asking me for information I had long already given, such as my contract number. And even with that information, all I got back from them was a copy of my rental contract. They then said that they do not see any discrepancy with their terms and conditions and that they regard the case as resolved. Without ever responding to my actual claims for the slightest bit.

After that I started researching the web and found dozens, if not hundreds of similar cases, all with the same pattern.

- Scaremongering customers into extra insurance during pickup
- Alternatively trying to charge a deposit from their credit card, but pretending that there was a problem with said credit card
- Thereby selling the extra insurance, which is not refundable as opposed to a deposit
- Charging never before mentioned costs for fuel
- Sending clients invoices for alleged traffic offenses together with a service fee, without proof of said offense
- Sending clients invoices for cleaning/repairs of cars even though the cars were never dirty/damaged

This is no coincidence. This is a systematic, methodical rip-off of customers. And it must be stopped.

What GOLDCAR is betting on is that the cheated customers shy away from the effort of legally claiming back their money, given that it is "only" around 100 EUR or even less, and that they book it off as bad experience. And GOLDCAR is very successful at it.

Service

Comments
I would have given ZERO stars for the staff and quality of service, but the review form requires to rate at least with 1.
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service


Dear Sascha,

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us at our office in Málaga was not as expected. Our basic coverage always contemplates an excess (please copy/paste the following link on your browser for screenshots of our webpage during the booking process and of our T&Cs: http://bit.ly/1F6S83R, http://bit.ly/1JH9t4x). This is common practice in the sector. Additional insurance is offered for customers’ peace of mind and always as an alternative to blocking a deposit on a credit card. Sometimes, there are issues with credit cards when it comes to blocking a deposit, and we have only recently started to accept debit cards (except for our offices in Italy, so this was also a bit problematic, even if specified in the confirmation email/voucher).

Please note that our prices are among the most competitive in the rental-car sector; offering +37,000 vehicles in offices in Spain, Andorra, Portugal, Italy, Malta and Morocco, serving more than 1 million customers a year (less than 1% of which complain online). Most negative reviews online are outdated; we have considerably improved our services and polices since the beginning of 2014, and are continuing to do so.

Please allow me to explain our Flex Fuel policy: customers pre-purchase a full tank and receive a refund for unused fuel, minus a handling and administration fee. With this plan customers benefit from our Quick Return System, they don't have to worry about refuelling the vehicle close to the office before returning it or wait for the tank to be checked. This is explained during the booking process through our website (http://bit.ly/1HdvHef). A Full to Full plan is also offered and explained during the booking process through our website (http://bit.ly/1AWwjQE).

Regarding our fine management fee, it is specified in our T&Cs (http://bit.ly/1e1hdEs) and customers have to receive the actual fine directly from local authorities, not us. Although we do have to process them and have an entire department dedicated to that task.
A special cleaning fee for vehicles due to the condition they were returned in is also specified in our T&Cs (http://bit.ly/1IxDI0P).

Please send me your contract number at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. so that I may look into a refund of the delayed return fee.

Kindest regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Was this review helpful to you? 

Unverified Renter Reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
2.2
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
3.2
Location Convenience 
 
2.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
2.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.3
Already have an account?
Ratings
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup
0 --> 10,000 miles/km = 5 stars 10,001 --> 20,000 = 4.5 stars 20,001 --> 30,000 = 4 stars 30,001 --> 40,000 = 3.5 stars 40,001 --> 50,000 = 3 stars 50,001 --> 60,000 = 2.5 stars 60,001 --> 70,000 = 2 stars 70,001 --> 80,000 = 1.5 stars 80,001 --> 90,000 = 1 star 90,001+ = 0.5 stars
Location Convenience
How easy was it to find and get to the location to pick up and drop off the car
Staff / Quality of Service
How were you treated? Consider knowledge, professionalism, friendliness, attitude, language skills
Vehicle Condition - Outside
Consider any damage, overall condition and cleanliness and any safety issues eg. Tyre wear
Vehicle Condition - Inside
Consider any damage, overall condition and cleanliness / odor
Comments
Service
You will be able to upload photos and video right after you submit your review if you wish.

We value your contribution and particularly your privacy. We will not rent or sell your email address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Overall rating 
 
2.6
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
5.0
Location Convenience 
 
1.5
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
5.0

Charged for pre-existing damage, lied to by staff

1 hour wait to pick up car at 1am. Ok, not entirely their fault.

After 30 minutes of pressurising from staff to purchase insurance, told by staff member that any damage smaller than the car key/5cm did not need to be reported.

Checked car, noticed 2 (very) small scratches on rear bumper. Measured against key, less than half the size (2-3cm).

Returned car 4 days later, no further damage and no comments from check-in staff.

Get home to 2x charges on credit card - one for 200 EUR for 'damage to rear bumper', another for 120 EUR with no explanation. Complaints raised, no resolution or further explanation.

Filed police report in Spain and opened another incident with Goldcar. Finally refunded the 120 EUR with no apology or explanation. Refusing to refund 200 EUR claiming that we damaged the car.

Fraudulent behaviour from both employees and company. Will be looking into legal action against both.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.1
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
3.5
Location Convenience 
 
3.5
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
4.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
4.0

Shambles

Whatever you, your friends or family do DO NOT BE FOOLED BY THE PRICE. The price is attractive then you get stung without any explanation. I have been charged just under £30 for hire but also been charged £90+ with no reason. I still see my self lucky as I have read some people haven't been so lucky. The waiting the customer service isn't worth the hassle. The way in which we were treated by the individual who was serving us was joke. Rude and unhelpful, and it took ages to have everything completed. They were coming up with prices that we weren't mentioned about before which was very confusing, we have hired cars in many countries and cities and this was something else. I have never experienced anything like this before and wouldn't want to experience again or would like my loved ones experience it as well. Goldcars you should be ashamed for stealing from people. I just wish I read about them before I booked it, but I guess I have learnt my lesson. 

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear Duran,

First of all we'd like to say that we appreciate that you've shared your experience with us so we can explain you further details about our services.

On the issue you described, please let me explain that initial prices on our website are for basic rentals. Then, our customers are free to add as many services as they need, with the consequent increase of the price. But it any case the decision of adding an extra depends only on them.
Also I would like to tell you our prices and conditions are clearly detailed during the booking process as well as in Terms in Conditions our clients accept.

Kindest regards,
Victoria
Goldcar Representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
1.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.0

a fraud company ! Dont rent here

The force you to take expensive insurance of 128 euro
If not they block 2500 euro which they did
We could not eat and pay hotel anymore !! We hate goldcar ! We really hate them
Car was damaged big time and did not brake and did not start 5 out 6 times

Service

Mentionable Staff
We hate them
Comments
Staff rude and working on commission only!!!!
They should go to jail!!
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear Verneulen,

We are sorry to hear that your rental experience with us was not as expected. Please note that the rental procedure, including our insurance policies, is explained on our webpage during the booking process and on the brokers’ we work with. Our additional coverage is offered as an alternative to blocking a deposit on the customers card (only credit cards accepted in Italy).

Offering top rate vehicles is our number one priority, which is why 70% of our +35,000 car fleet is renewed annually. We apologize if the vehicle you were offered was not in optimal condition, it is highly irregular, we ask customers to exchange them is such isolated cases.

Kindest regards,
Victoria

Was this review helpful to you?