Goldcar Car Rental - Las Palmas Gran Canaria Airport - LPA - Canary Islands - Spain

AirportGoldcar Car Rental - Las Palmas Gran Canaria Airport - LPA - Canary Islands - Spain

 
2.7 (3) Verified Renter Rating®
 
2.0 (3) Unverified Renter Rating

Details

Address
Gran Canaria Airport
Gando
Las Palmas - Canary Islands - Spain
Postcode
35230
Country
Canary Islands - Spain
Phone
+34 965 233 183
Emergency Number
+34 902 105 293
Latitude
27.938877
Longitude
-15.389383
Airport Service
On Airport - Counter & Car in Terminal
Is this a Corporate Location?
Yes Yes

Hours

Monday
07:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 23:00
Thursday
07:00 - 23:00
Friday
07:00 - 23:00
Saturday
07:00 - 23:00
Sunday
07:00 - 23:00
Drop Box for Returns
Yes Yes
After Hours Pickup
Yes - On Request Yes - On Request
After Hours Surcharge
37.00 - flight number essential

Currency/Tax/Deposit

Cash / Debit Card Information
Cash/Debit rentals are not possible
Only Visa and Mastercard are accepted
American Express | Diners Club | Postepay | Debit Cards - not accepted
Deposit
600.00 if additional insurance not purchased - See Insurance section
Currency
EUR - Euro

Vehicles/Fuel

Fuel Policy
Full to Empty
Additional Fuel Information
Flex Fuel is our new fuel system, in which unused fuel reimbursement will apply to ALL reservations. This system has many advantages: flexibility, time and money saver, it will give you access to special offers and low rates in this website and there is no need to refuel the vehicle before it is returned. The cost for Flex Fuel including the fuel tank is charged upon arrival. Fuel reimbursement will be processed at the exact moment of dropping off the vehicle. The price will depend on the fuels market value on the days before the start of the rental period, the vehicle model, the tanks capacity and the type of fuel recommended by the vehicle manufacturer. The price for a fuel tank is based on the average price in the most and least expensive fuel stations around the province of Alicante (for rentals from Spain and the Balearics) and around Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, (for rentals from any of our offices based on the Canary Islands) in accordance to the prices published by the Ministry of Industry, Energy and Tourism found here. You can check the approximate price per car group using the links below. The total up front charge = tank capacity x price per litre + Flex Fuel service charge. Refunds will apply to the remaining fuel to the nearest 1/8th of a tank.
Unleaded Fuel Price
Diesel Fuel Price
Vehicle Types Available
  • Manual / Stick Shift
  • Automatic Transmission
  • Estate / Stationwagon
  • Minivan / People Carrier
  • Prestige / Luxury
Diesel Vehicle Availability
Yes - On request for some car groups Yes - On request for some car groups
Automatic charge if car delivered is diesel
Diesel Fee per Day
2.00 per day

Age/Drivers

Minimum Age
21 years
Must have had a licence for min 1 year
Maximum Age
NA
Additional Drivers per Day
5.00 per day per driver
Additional Drivers per Rental
60.00 per rental - 3 max

Insurance

CDW Price per Day
Included in rental price
Collision Damage Waiver Excess
Zero
100.00 Accidents Administration Fee applies in case of damage if SDW is not purchased on arrival
CDW does not cover damage to tyres, tyre rims, vehicle interior, outside rear view mirrors, glass, underside, or damage to the clutch
CDW does not cover fees for recharging the battery, loss of keys, tow truck or transfer by taxi after an accident
CDW does not cover deposit for replacement vehicle or compensation for the days the vehicle cannot be used due to repairs.
These risks may be covered in full or in part by taking out further cover (SDW) when collecting your vehicle.
Super CDW Price per Day
When arriving at the office to collect the vehicle, you will be able to extend your level of cover if desired. The fee and the excess waiver (where applicable) will vary depending on the destination, season, vehicle type and rental period.
Super CDW Excess
Zero
Theft Protection Price per Day
Included in rental price
Theft Protection Excess
Zero
100.00 Administration Fee applies in case of theft if SDW is not purchased on arrival
WI Price per Rental
Included as part of Super CDW
Windscreen Insurance Excess
Zero

Equipment

GPS Unit
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
90.00 deposit required
GPS Price per Day
8.50
GPS Price per Rental
85.00
GPS Replacement Price
90.00
Baby Capsule
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Baby Capsule Price per Day
6.00
Baby Capsule Price per Rental
72.00
Child Seat
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Child Seat Price per Day
6.00
Child Seat Price per Rental
72.00
Booster Seat
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Booster Seat Price per Day
6.00
Booster Seat Price per Rental
72.00
Snow Chains
No No
Mobile Wifi
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Mobile Wifi Replacement Price
80.00 deposit taken

One Way Rentals

Domestic One Way Rental Information
Not allowed
International One Way Rental Information
Not allowed
Permitted Cross Border Travel
It is not allowed to travel outside the Canary Islands including Ceuta and Melilla
Forbidden Cross Border Travel
Travel to other islands in the Canaries is allowed only if additional Travel Cover is purchased at the rates shown below.
Cross Border Additional Fees
9.00 per day
Minimum 25.00 per rental
Maximum 90.00 per rental

T&Cs

Maximum Rental Duration
89 days
Mileage Allowed Per Day
Unlimited
Roadside Assistance Available
Yes Yes
Roadside Assistance Price per Day
Included
Roadside Assistance Price per Rental
Ph +34 902 105 276 - 24 hours
Loss of Keys Charge
Up to 280.00 plus tax
Loss of Registration Charge
Up to 280.00 plus tax
Loss of Licence Plate Charge
Up to 280.00 plus tax
Extraordinary Cleaning
150.00 plus tax
Fine Handling Charge
40.00 plus tax
Claim Administration Charge
Up to 150.00 plus tax
Cancellation Policy
A FULL REFUND will be processed if bookings are cancelled more than 1 hour before the pickup time.
NO REFUND for cancellations received less than 1 hour before the pickup time
No Show Fee
No refund for no-shows
Grace Period
59 minutes

Notes

If vehicle is returned after the 59 minute grace period, a charge of 40.00 plus an extra days rental will apply. On the other hand, if a client does not receive their car within 59 minutes of signing a rental agreement, Goldcar will compensate the client. Even in the case of a re-directed flight, if a client collects the car from a station that is different from that originally booked, an additional charge of 60.00 will apply.
Swap Start/End

Verified Renter reviews ®

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
2.7
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
3.3
Location Convenience 
 
3.8
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.2
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.7
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.7
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
3.0
Location Convenience 
 
3.5
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.0

Rent-A-Wreck

Got a wreck hidden in a dark corner. No staff available for check-out. Had to go back to office and get "assistance" from a clerk. Was charged for damages already existing on the car when we got it!

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear phibhak,

We are sorry to hear that your rental with us in Las Palmas was not as expected. We are really surprised with your comment.
When our customers choose to leave a deposit instead of purchasing our Super Relax Cover they are fully aware that they are liable to any damage made to the car during the rental period.
Then, we gave the customer the opportunity to mark all damages existing on the car on a form.
Once they return the car, all damages previously marked on the form won't be charged to the customer as we understand they were on collection.

However, if you say the damages were there before your rental period, we invite you to contact us in order to clarify the matter. www.goldcar.es/en/atencionCliente

We hope this information helps to clarify the situation.

Regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
4.5
Location Convenience 
 
5.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.5
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
4.5

Lucky I looked over the carmyself

After using Goldcar for 2 years finding them the cheapest I have stayed with them renting cars in Gran canaria about 9 times,
Yes I know they charge extra for fuel and the extra for the logistics of putting the fuel in the car but has still been better than others until now.
After collecting the car and paying €900 deposit on my credit card I went to collect my car strait away I could see the car was very damaged a lot more than what was on my contract. I found a lady at the collection point cArpark and said about all the damage that was not on my contract she said she would add the damage I had said to the contract and signed it with out even looking at the car. After a week I returned the car early so I could show the office about the extra damage, lady at the office said that it would be fine that she would add a note with the keys so I would not get charged. One day after I returned home I had an email for damage I had done to the car and had been charged over €436. I logged a complaint and a copy of my contract that I had one of there staff sign with the damage reported before I used the car. They said there had been a mistake in the return proses and said they would refund for 2 areas of damage but not the scratch on rear panel and would still change me €150 for that and closed the claim. So I opened another claim and said what I had before about the damage I had reported they replied sending me a copy of the contract before I had the damage hand written on it saying the contract showing no damage before I had taken it, I had sent a copy of the contract with the damage on the first claim u would think they would have looked at that, so I will continue to try and get my money back but it's really hard work I even called the office and asked to talk to customer services they said there was no number to talk with CS but if I wanted to tell her she would call them on the phone and tell them ( on the phone they don't have ) after 2-3 min she come back to me and said CS would email me in a week, I said they had said that last week she said they are very vey busy in customer services, And it's now I know why .
I am being charged for gold cars incompetence of not logging damage on the contract before I used the car if i had not got a goldcar worker to sign that i had reported this damage I would have no proof, but even with this I'm still fighting for €150 they have still taken from me.

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear 54poprod,

Thanks for your comment.

On the issue you described, please send us an email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. (indicating your contract number) and we'll investigate your case further.

Kind regards.

Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
2.5
Location Convenience 
 
3.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.5

highway robbery

We used to have 2 rules when visiting Gran Canaria.

1) DO NOT trust the Lucky Lucky women at Maspalomas
2) DO NOT drink the water.

However we now have a 3rd rule
3) DO NOT HIRE A CAR FROM GOLDCAR RENTAL (OR RHODIUM)

Me and my significant other have hired cars in the past, and travel at least 3 or 4 times a year to Gran Canaria. The only issue we have ever had was with ORLANDO, who DO NOT have an office at Las Palmas (gran Canria) airport as stated on their site. They ferry you to an industrial site about 15 minutes from the airport. The whole point of collection from the airport is your holiday begins so much earlier when one is able to collect from the airport, and you don’t have to wait for the baggage of other passengers, as is the case if anyone else on your flights has had the misfortune to book with the same company.
anyway, however I must get back to the unfortunate booking we made with GOLDCAR

This is however, the one and only time we have hired from GOLDCAR rental, which appears to be morphing into Rhodium Car rental. Possibly as a result of all the apalling number of complaints that the company now appear to be recieving and not only from trip advisor.

We got a quote via the online site www.www.rentalcars.com, a company based in Manchester, so obviously with their finger on the pulse of international car hire.

We were very impressd at the price.

However the price they quoted and the price we ended up paying bore no relevance to each other.

There was no delay so we didnt have to wait long to have our exprience with this company ruined, as many people have complained about, as a result long delays at their desk at LPA.

When I handed over our card for the completely unexpected ‘petrol deposit’ of 60 euros, added to this was a further 50 euro extra insurance charge. When i queried this the company representative said that we could have this removed, but ANY damage to the car would result in a 1,200 euro charge from the card they now had the full details of. i complained and she wasn’t interested, and continued to quote their terms and conitions. at least dick turpin wore a mask!

FUEL POLICY OF GOLDCAR verbatim. this was only made clear as we received our Prepaid booking confirmation.

'The vehicle will be provided with a full tank of fuel and the customer will pay for that fuel on arrival. in addition customer will be required to pay a service charge of between 16 and 42 euros to cover refuelling logistics.'
the charge for this fuel will depend on Due to refuelling logistics' it may cost more than it would at a local petrol station.
A refund will be given for any fuel left in the tank when the car is dropped off EXCLUDING the service charge.
-----------------------------------
IN laymens terms basically you fill the car back up and the company still has the optionto charge between 16 and 42 euros. WHY???? I could understand a logistical fee if the car had to be topped up or refuelled, but a blanket fee, which again is decided on the whim of the office. and a fiat 500 does not take 60 euros to fill up. It is 45 euros maximum. I know this because what we did use was 5/8 of a tank and it took 25 euros to top it to the brim.
Right next door is a company called Autoreisin, who we normally go with, and we have never had any issues regarding what are in my view very dubious extras.

If u take a car with 3/4 of a tank you bring it back as near to that as possible, and there is no extra insurance or anything like what GOLDCAR were asking for. its not (for some reason known only to GOLDCAR ) possible to cancel your booking when you becomeaware of all the extras you must telephone to cancel your booking, but that this is subject to a cancellation fee, one does feel rather robbed.

We weren’t allowed to undertake a check of the vehicle as collection is from the very dark underground car park at the airport. the car (Fiat 500) just looked really shabby with a grubby interior and lots of scuffs and scrapes to the exterior body and paintwork, no doubt they will attempt to scam us or some other poor sap for. no water, low oil, missing rear wiper, dubious tyres.
DO NOT USE GOLDCAR.

We would suggest that if you do hie from this appalling company, tae pics of the cars as soon as you leave the underground section of the car park.

Service

Comments
FUEL POLICY OF GOLDCAR verbatim. this was only made clear as we received our Prepaid booking confirmation.

'The vehicle will be provided with a full tank of fuel and the customer will pay for that fuel on arrival. in addition customer will be required to pay a service charge of between 16 and 42 euros to cover refuelling logistics.'
the charge for this fuel will depend on Due to refuelling logistics' it may cost more than it would at a local petrol station.
A refund will be given for any fuel left in the tank when the car is dropped off EXCLUDING the service charge.
-----------------------------------
IN laymen terms basically you fill the car back up and the company still charge between 16 and 42 euros. WHY???? I could understand a logistical fee if the car had to be topped up or refuelled, but a blanket fee, which again is decided on the whim of the office. and a fiat 5oo does not take 60 euros to fill up. its 45 euros tops. I know this because what we did use was 5/8 of a tank and it took 25 euros to top it to the brim.
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear highway robbery,

We are sorry to hear that your rental with us in Las Palmas was not as expected. Please allow me to respond to your review point by point:

1) Rhodium is our business rental branch and we are in no way planning on morphing into it.

2) Please note that the prices advertised on our webpage and on brokers’ are only the basic rental charge. The only mandatory charge at destination is a full tank of fuel. This is common practice in the sector.

3) We do experience peak times during high season, especially if two flights overlap due to delays. This is intensified by the lack of knowledge regarding the car rental procedure. We are trying to solve this by opening auxiliary offices and explaining the process in detail when and where possible.

4) The way our rental staff proceeded regarding our additional insurance was not correct. Our Relax Cover is always offered as an alternative to blocking a deposit on a credit card (or charged on a debit card and then refunded if the vehicle is returned in the same condition). We will be sure to speak to the local manager about this. If you purchased our Relax Cover, please send me your contract number at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and we will fully refund you.

5) Please allow me to explain our Flex Fuel policy: customers pre-purchase a full tank and receive a refund for unused fuel, minus a handling and administration fee. With this plan customers benefit from our Quick Return System, they don't have to worry about refuelling the vehicle close to the office before returning it or wait for the tank to be checked. Our staff needs to drive the car to be refuelled and it cannot be rented out in the meantime. This is explained during the booking process through our website (please copy/paste the following link on your browser for a screenshot: http://bit.ly/1HdvHef). A Full to Full plan is also offered and explained during the booking process through our website (http://bit.ly/1AWwjQE). Our regularly updated fuel rates are available for consultation here: www.goldcar.es/SDR and are based on current petrol rates.

6) We apologize if the vehicle you were offered was not in optimal condition; please believe that it is highly irregular. Offering top rate cars is our top priority, which is why 70% of our +37,000 car fleet is renewed annually.

Kindest regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Was this review helpful to you? 

Unverified Renter Reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
2.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
2.0
Location Convenience 
 
2.8
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.7
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
2.2
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.5
Already have an account?
Ratings
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup
0 --> 10,000 miles/km = 5 stars 10,001 --> 20,000 = 4.5 stars 20,001 --> 30,000 = 4 stars 30,001 --> 40,000 = 3.5 stars 40,001 --> 50,000 = 3 stars 50,001 --> 60,000 = 2.5 stars 60,001 --> 70,000 = 2 stars 70,001 --> 80,000 = 1.5 stars 80,001 --> 90,000 = 1 star 90,001+ = 0.5 stars
Location Convenience
How easy was it to find and get to the location to pick up and drop off the car
Staff / Quality of Service
How were you treated? Consider knowledge, professionalism, friendliness, attitude, language skills
Vehicle Condition - Outside
Consider any damage, overall condition and cleanliness and any safety issues eg. Tyre wear
Vehicle Condition - Inside
Consider any damage, overall condition and cleanliness / odor
Comments
Service
You will be able to upload photos and video right after you submit your review if you wish.

We value your contribution and particularly your privacy. We will not rent or sell your email address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Overall rating 
 
1.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
1.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.0

Avoid Gold Car!!!

AVOID!! Rented a car from Gold car for ten days in Gran Canaria. When I arrived I was asked if I wanted to take additional car insurance, I declined (because I had already purchased additional insurance with another online provider). The lady behind the desk handed me a contract in Spanish and I was told I needed to pay a refundable deposit. When I returned home I discovered they hadn't given me all my deposit back. I called the Gold Car office and was told I had agreed to take the additional insurance and signed the contract. I kicked up a fuss and they gave me an email address. I emailed and got a response to say, as I signed the contract nothing I can do. I even sent them proof of the other insurance I had taken out. I felt my case wasn't dealt with properly and they never answered any of my questions (just kept copying and pasting the last email they sent me). It's an absolute scam and I can't believe they get away with it. They have taken £150 from my account and it's disgraceful! You only have to google them and see all the bad things. I don't ever write reviews but I would advise everyone to avoid using Gold Car. 

Service

Comments
Poor customer service!
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
3.5
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.5
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.5

Goldcar rip off

Below is a copy of a self explanatory email I have been trying to deliver to Goldcar - delivery has proved impossible - they do not now recognise my email address or I do not have the correct customer reference!! "I am astounded that you are claiming that there was damage to the vehicle for which I was responsible! This vehicle had numerous minor scratches and small dents etc in the bodywork, as you would expect in a vehicle which had covered more than 45000 miles. The inside of the car was dirty and stained . I did not query these when I picked up the vehicle as I expected this with a vehicle of this mileage. I checked the vehicle before I returned it to you and am certain there was no further damage. I would ask you therefore to reconsider the charge before I take the matter further. I look forward to hearing from you" They obviously do not want you to query any charges they make as they tell you of them by way of a no reply email. USE THIS COMPANY AT YOUR FINANCIAL PERIL !!!!!!!!

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Good afternoon,

Could you please open a query via our website so we could help you further with this issue? This is the link: https://www.goldcar.es/en/atencionCliente/
Please make sure you use the correct email address and contract number.

Thank you in advance.
Regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
wrr
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
4.0
Location Convenience 
 
4.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
4.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
2.0

insurance scam (cobertura super)

During pickup car I was informed that I need to pay fuel deposit. I accepted amount on payment terminal and then get recipe with my signature from terminal. After returning car I get only small portion of deposit back. I start check and find on my recipe that there is position "cobertura super" that apparently is not a fuel deposit but extra insurance that I was not informed about. And according to customer service it is not refundable as I sign in for it!!!

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear customer,

Please note that our basic coverage always contemplates an excess (please see our T&Cs). Additional insurance is offered for customers’ peace of mind and always as an alternative to blocking a deposit on a credit card. This is common practice in the rent-a-car sector. All is clearly detailed in th contract you sign at the counter.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Was this review helpful to you?