Goldcar Car Rental - Lisbon Portela International Airport - LIS - Portugal
- Manual / Stick Shift
- Automatic Transmission
- Estate / Stationwagon
- Minivan / People Carrier
- Prestige / Luxury
One Way Rentals
Verified Renter reviews ®
long delays in picking up car
However, it is impossible to have to wait as long as I did to get served. I would consider a wait above 15 minutes for poor. 2.5 hours is incomprehensible.
Horrible and possibly fraudlent
A few hours of waiting time, forcing to buy fuel at totally excessive price and strong persuasion to buy an expensive insurance, a device for a toll roads etc. - instead of 35 euro you will learn that you should kindly pay i.e. 202 euro. If you do not decide to take an insurance, your deductible is about 3 times higher than elswhere, like 1200 euro. It is still nothing.
"The best" comes later. Even if you return a car in a condition with no objections on their side, they suddenly just a day later, charge your credit card for any amount of money without any notice.
NO possibility to make a phone call - nobody at any time of the day picks up a phone
NO answers to e-mails (both official and "PR"-related persons) - they answered me 15 days later
NO answers to FB entries besides "thank you we will look into it"
15 days later, I can complete my story:
In my case, during the car return the "damage" to the door lock was noticed by a service man - but I was advised to go to the office to check if it was not registered earlier. I went to the office and presented my contract. At the top of the contract there is a statement "check broken lock". The lady at the office checked and reported to me that this damage HAD BEEN registered EARLIER and said that "everything is all right and I do not need to worry". I had no chance to spot it during the car inspection at the check-out since that "damage" is in fact a slight dent near the car lock (the lock itself was working properly all the time). Despite that fact Goldcar took 350 euros from my credit card just a day later. I had to wait 15 days for their "comment" on the reason of charging and the reason was a "broken lock".
In other words, they charged me for the pre-existing damage and most possibly, they will not hesitate to repeat this "trick" with the next customer if he/she does not buy their expensive insurance.
Horrible and unbelievable? Just read the others opinions!!! My advice: if you, by chance, have made a reservation with them, just cancel it even losing some money. It will be much less than you will lose if you go with them! I repeat: AVOID THEM AT ALL COST !!!
My Response to the Owner's Reply
I appreciate your answer not because of the contents but because you are the only person to contact me from Goldcar at all. You could eventually try to stop this mumbo jumbo and copy/paste answer. You know very well that all customers are shocked during the car pick up with additional prices (both fuel and insurance) and if they book via brokers (like economycarrentals) they have no idea of a surprise like 6 times more to pay at the office. This kind of experience is continuous and tells us that this is you business model (one-time client rip off). But if you are an advocate of your company, you could answer:
2) why nobody and ever picks up a phone at Lisbon office (the official number 00351 218413768), just try, I have tried about 30 times at different day time. If they are so busy then why they give the number at all.
3) You could also answer when money for the remaining fuel will be returned (3/8 in my case) to me, I was informed at the car rental that it will be done (but I see it is a sheer lie).
4) I do hope that I will finally know the reason of a charge taken from my credit card, i.e. you will "process my query".
A friendly advice : avoid them! 4 hours in the queue!
Ok, I tend to be a fair person and rarely over exaggerate, but really, this was the worst customer service ever (and I am not talking just car hire. ... ever).
So, after two beautiful days in Lisbon, we came to the Lisbon International airport to pick up our pre-booked, pre-paid car from Goldcar. And it was a shock to see a long queue to their desk, a queue that span through a long corridor with some people standing outside in the sun. People with small children, older people, families, many are tired after their flights. People at the start of the queue were waiting for five hours to get there.
First we've attempted to cancel the booking and re-book with one of other companies (prices there were a bit higher, but no queues outside their desks). But you couldn't cancel that pre-paid rate.... we've tried using their online check in option hoping it'd speed up or process. No success. .. We called Holiday Autos, our broker, they couldn't do anything for us. Over one hundred people were trapped in the queue.
We started queuing at 14:00 and got our car at 18:00.
Once we reached the desk, the hidden charge saga has started. No wonder why every client took them so long to process: almost every client was arguing, asking questions, complaining. Some were coming back after getting their keys and checking the cars. One couple had to come back as their Fiat Punto was missing a side mirror :-)...
Of course there was a push to buy a very expensive CDW insurance from them. Because we had a third party insurance, we had to go, check our car, mark all the damages (ourselves), bring the paper back after waiting in another, but shorter, queue. And as an additional punishment for not buying their CDW, we were told we had to stand in this long queue again to drop off the car at the end of our rental :-) this is not acceptable.
The car itself was relatively new, but had a lot of scratches. I wonder if we didn't notice anything at the beginning of our rental. Would they claim we are liable?..
I expect a lady from Goldcar will respond to this review saying she is so sorry we had such a terrible experience, but this won't change anything. The queue will still be there so will the hidden charges and rude, tired, stressed staff at their desks.
I do not recommend this provider. Pay a little more and choose another company. Beware and stay away from the Goldcar!
Unverified Renter Reviews
how to pay electronic toll on line
Thank you for contacting Goldcar Rental. Your query has been received and assigned the file number 1110189.
Details of your query:
1st level: Fines - Customer (speeding
2nd level: Fines - Customer (speeding / parking etc.)
Comments: good evening, all ok for the car rental. I have the following problem to ask. The November 2 at 5-5.30 p.m. I passed with the car renault CLIO 67RD65 in A23 from Entroncamento to Abrantes with the payment of electronic tolls. I did not notice that was not possible to pay cash in the amount of about 4 euro. Can you tell me how to pay online? alternatively could you pay for me the amount without penalty ? Thanks in advance, I am wait a kind reply. carlo diaferia Parma - Italy
customer service, deposit
Dont Use GoldCar
Complete thieves, avoid like the plague
My Response to the Owner's Reply
BEWARE OF THESE CROOKS
I paid a fee for returning the car to a different Airport which is okay but Andre Filipe deducted me twice the amount. After i noticed that he gave me a reimbursement claim with the FAKE PROMISE that I will receive my money the day after. That of course never happend aswell.