2.1 (23) Verified Renter Rating®
 
2.3 (32) Unverified Renter Rating

Unverified Renter Reviews

5 reviews with 2 stars

32 reviews

Back to Listing
Already have an account?
Ratings
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup
0 --> 10,000 miles/km = 5 stars 10,001 --> 20,000 = 4.5 stars 20,001 --> 30,000 = 4 stars 30,001 --> 40,000 = 3.5 stars 40,001 --> 50,000 = 3 stars 50,001 --> 60,000 = 2.5 stars 60,001 --> 70,000 = 2 stars 70,001 --> 80,000 = 1.5 stars 80,001 --> 90,000 = 1 star 90,001+ = 0.5 stars
Location Convenience
How easy was it to find and get to the location to pick up and drop off the car
Staff / Quality of Service
How were you treated? Consider knowledge, professionalism, friendliness, attitude, language skills
Vehicle Condition - Outside
Consider any damage, overall condition and cleanliness and any safety issues eg. Tyre wear
Vehicle Condition - Inside
Consider any damage, overall condition and cleanliness / odor
Comments
Service
You will be able to upload photos and video right after you submit your review if you wish.

We value your contribution and particularly your privacy. We will not rent or sell your email address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

5 results - showing 1 - 5  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
3.5
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.5

Avoid this company like the plague

My daughter used this company last week and it seems like the norm on reading these reviews that on return the company say there is some damage to the car. She took photographs and there was no damage but they have charged her £800! The company needs investigating 

Service

Comments
The man on the gold car desk was very rude to my daughter as the booking had to be changed due to unforeseen circumstances. Very unhelpful
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Hello Garnett,

Please note that if we have found damages that were not there upon collection of the car. All the damages have to be marked by the angent and confirmed and signed by the client.

If you have pictures proving otherwise please contact us via https://www.goldcar.es/en/atencionCliente/ and we will look into it and assist you.

Thank you.

Regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 27, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
4.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.0

Be Very Aware of Renting from this Company!

The car which we received from Goldcar was simply a death trap. We collected the car from the airport where it had the front bumper hanging off, one missing front fog light as well as being covered in scratches, dust and dirt. We then drove cautiously to our hotel due to the problem with the steering being off and the gearbox presenting issues with changing gear, in hindsight I should never have taken this car any further! For the first three days of our trip we did not require the car so it sat happily and safe in the hotel car park. Upon our return to it the front drivers side tire was flat so I proceeded to replace it with the spare. When replacing it I found the tire to be completely bald and in no safe condition to be on the road. After replacing the flat tire with the spare in the boot we drove off, only to find that the car was now bouncing up and down. As we drove to our destination (at around 20 KPH) a passing motorist made us aware of a problem so we pulled in on a dangerous stretch of road to check it out at which point I had to take off and re-attach the spare wheel. Upon setting off for a second time, this time to return the car to the airport, it was in a worse situation than before so we pulled off the main road and parked up safely to call Goldcar. After numerous unanswered calls and two with a person who did not want to deal with us we eventually got collected by a mechanic who took the car to his local garage located, thankfully, just around the corner from where we had pulled in. The mechanics initial reaction at driving the car was of shock at how bad it was. When we got to his shop he took the spare wheel off and threw away the rim as it was completely bent and this was what had been causing the bouncing, he then looked at the original wheel and informed us the reason that it has gone flat was that the rubber was completely worn out. After fitting the spare tire to the original rim and checking the car we were put safely back onto the road, with no thanks to Goldcar for putting us in the extremely dangerous situation we had reached in the first place! Then, just to top it off, while at the mechanics we asked him if he could fill the windows screen washer with water as we believed it to be empty, he very politely did and also checked our oil levels just to be sure but once again when we got on the road and tried to clean the dust and dirt which had built up on the windscreen we found that the motor for the water sprayer was broken, so we had to pull in and clean it manually with paper rags. An absolute disgrace of a hire car company, who will never get mine or anybody I can tell business again! I am currently monitoring my credit card charges as we were told we would not be charged above what we had already paid, if there are any problems I will be escalating the problem as high as possible and I have no problem with getting the European courts involved as it was that bad a situation.

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Hello Gareth,

We are very surprised to know the issues you have had with our cars as this is highly unusual.
I would like to apologize if the vehicle you were offered was not in optimal condition. Offering top rate cars is our top priority, which is why 70% of our car fleet is renewed annually.

We thank you for sharing this information with us as it will help us avoid this in the future.

Regards,
Victoria,
Goldcar representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
2.5
Location Convenience 
 
3.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.5
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
2.0

Deposit not returned since MAY!

Absolutely horrible experience. I've rented a car on May 21st, returned it 24th of May and still have not received back my deposit - 1350 euro! I've contacted customer service in Spain several times and Malta, but still without progress with my query!
Very poor contact with customer service, it seems that Goldcar head office can do nothing to help their customers literally robbed by their Malta franchise branch. Unbelievable for me, as I travel a lot and never has experienced such a service. Be aware of Goldcar at Malta, otherwise you'll be calling for your money for months.

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Good morning Pete,

We are sorry for the delay. Please take note this is not a normal situation and we always try to solve our client queries as soon as posible.

If you still don't receive your deposit back please contact us sending a message to [email protected] and we will study your case further.

Regards,

Victoria R.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.1
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
2.5
Location Convenience 
 
3.5
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.5
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
2.0

Deposit not returned

I rented a car from this company 20 April returned 27
The deposit of €1900has not yet been returned. 14 June despite many attempts to contact by phone always,after a delay,engaged.
Head office in Spain do not seem to be interested.
I have now put this in the hands of the Maltese police

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear Maximillian,

If you have not been refunded yet for your deposit, please send me an email at [email protected] and I will look into it.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
2.0
Location Convenience 
 
5.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.0

VERY BAD!!!

These guys gave us a car with a bald front tire and on the second day (FLAT TYRE) they replaced it and all was fine. We came back to UK and the cheeky guys have charged me for a tyre change with no notice no call no email! The check out guy said all was fine and I showed him the bald tyre in the boot and he said it was all good. Not happy about this at all as I was traveling with my 2 year old son at the time and it could have been worse. I'm writing this review because I've tried to call for the past 2 days and they just keep hanging up on me! Terrible service!!! And the fact they didn't even contact me to let me know with which I will dispute the payment! I have photo evidence of the tyre pryer to removal to show how bad the condition of the tyre was!! Very angry about this!

Service

Comments
The tall girl on the counter didn't even explain anything to me about the car!
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear Bentley,

We apologize for any inconveniences caused. Please contact us at [email protected] and we will review your case in detail with the office in Malta.

Kindest regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
5 results - showing 1 - 5