2.1 (23) Verified Renter Rating®
 
2.3 (32) Unverified Renter Rating

Unverified Renter Reviews

32 reviews

Back to Listing
Already have an account?
Ratings
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup
0 --> 10,000 miles/km = 5 stars 10,001 --> 20,000 = 4.5 stars 20,001 --> 30,000 = 4 stars 30,001 --> 40,000 = 3.5 stars 40,001 --> 50,000 = 3 stars 50,001 --> 60,000 = 2.5 stars 60,001 --> 70,000 = 2 stars 70,001 --> 80,000 = 1.5 stars 80,001 --> 90,000 = 1 star 90,001+ = 0.5 stars
Location Convenience
How easy was it to find and get to the location to pick up and drop off the car
Staff / Quality of Service
How were you treated? Consider knowledge, professionalism, friendliness, attitude, language skills
Vehicle Condition - Outside
Consider any damage, overall condition and cleanliness and any safety issues eg. Tyre wear
Vehicle Condition - Inside
Consider any damage, overall condition and cleanliness / odor
Comments
Service
You will be able to upload photos and video right after you submit your review if you wish.

We value your contribution and particularly your privacy. We will not rent or sell your email address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

32 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
5.0
Location Convenience 
 
5.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
5.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
5.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
5.0

Fantastic experience

Excellent service .
no problems, highly recommend.

Service

Mentionable Staff
Lorry
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear Jason,

We are very glad to hear that your rental experience with us in Malta was to your satisfaction. Thank you very much for your positive review and recommendation.

We hope to be of service again soon!

Kindest regards,
Victoria

Was this review helpful to you? 
Ian
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
5.0
Location Convenience 
 
5.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
5.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
5.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
5.0

Was I using a different Goldcar???

What really made me write this is because the previous negative comments were so unfair. Proof enough is to give "Location Convenience" one star. All the car hire places are next to each other in arrivals. Where do you want them? On the plane?
As I rent cars in different countries at least three times per year and do it through "rentalcars.com" I feel that I am qualified to write a comment. Rentalcars.com use various well known companies so I have been given cars from most of the companies.
This present rental, which is from Goldcar, gave me a Peugeot 107. It had about 30,000 on the clock and was typical of a car with that mileage. Everything worked. Yes, there were a few parking rashes and scrapes on the wheels. THE CUSTOMERS DID THIS, NOT THE COMPANY. But all were marked on the sheet. Some were marked that I did not even see myself. Why did I then give 5 stars? Because, when I joked with the staff member at the counter that I should get an upgrade "because I'm a nice guy" he laughed and said OK but the new cars are being delivered later in the week. I thought that he was in turn joking until I got an email to collect a brand new, larger Peugeot. I think it's a 308. Out the box with 2000 on the clock.
On the negative side:
Yes, they sell you a full insurance - your choice - as do ALL the car hire companies
Yes, they block a deposit on your credit card for accident damage - only if you don't take the extra insurance - as do ALL the car hire companies.
Yes, they charge more for filling the car with petrol - as do ALL car hire companies.

Service

Mentionable Staff
All that I dealt with
Comments
Be fair. You had a bad day but mine could not have been better.
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear Ian,

Thank you for your positive and informed feedback. We are very glad to hear that you were satisfied with our services in Malta and that your rental experience with us was to your liking.

We hope to see you again soon on your next holiday!

Kindest regards,
Victoria

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
5.0
Location Convenience 
 
5.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
5.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
5.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
5.0

Perfect

Have rented for the second time at Gold Car Malta. No Problems! Very good service.

This May I rented with Hertz. At arriving at Malta Airport NO car was available in size we reserve since 7 month! Same story for a english couple with the same problem before me.

After a long discussion without result with Hertz I called the police. Yes, I know they cant help but it looks not good for Hertz if the police is standing at the front desk .........

In the meantime I remember Gold Car. So I ask them if they have a suitable car for 4 pax and huge luggage available immediately. They had. I got a nearly new Peugeot 308 with 2000 km runned.

Last time a tire was damaged on my car. Because I now EVERY rental company will charge me with a big amount of money for this I choosed to go to a repair shop and they changed it for me for 50 Euro.

Think always: If you lent your car dont you want it back in a good condition too?! Its a rental be gentle! :-)

As far as I saw on maltes roads Gold Car has the most versatile rental fleet. This is needed specially for families with 4 to 6 pax. All other companies offer you car tpes like Kia Picanto or similar.

Service

Mentionable Staff
Chris and Mark
Comments
Helped me out of a big problem with Hertz.
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear giacomoleoaprdi,

Thank you for your positive review and your informed feedback. We are very glad to hear that you were satisfied with your rental with us in Malta and hope to be of service again soon!

Kindest regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
4.5
Location Convenience 
 
3.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.0

avoid gold car Malta

Had to pay €800+vat for slight damage to undercarriage that i could not prove i did not do.

They give you very amateurish looking reciept for damage and now looks like my insurance company will not pay out. I doubt that the car has or will ever be repaired so this money is taken fraudulently. Probably not the only person to have to pay for this damage. The car had other scratches and dents on it which someone else has probably had to pay for or paid the extra desk insurance but the car is not repaired.

My advice would be to avoid goldcar at Malta airport.

if you are going to use them then take the extra insurance at the desk then they will not even check the car when you hand it back. but check car thouroly anyway and take loads of photos and video insist on getting it cleaned if dirty and that it is checked under a good light it is your right.

i am to trusting a person but will never be caught like this again

Service

Mentionable Staff
rude
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear Ross,

Regarding the extra charge please send me your contract number at [email protected] so that I may look into it.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
4.0
Location Convenience 
 
4.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
4.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
4.0

Terrible Service

Imagine arriving in a foreign country and your first experience of speaking to a local is the hire car company whom I might add are getting your custom. Goldcar staff at the airport seemed to completely indifferent at best and rude at worst to the level of service they gave. Upon requesting my car the tried to sell me insurance. When I declined they started talking to me in a rude and abrupt manner to such an extent I decided that in fact I do not want to proceed with the rental any more. They then said they would charge me 69EUROS for cancelling for something I had already paid for. I had to take the car in the end. A car I might add was a plastered with their slogans and stickers all over it. In summary, a terrible experience with the staff, poor car and put an all rounder dampener right at the start of the holiday. Such a shame.

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Hello Ikon,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the rest of the community.

We are an international company with more than 80 offices worldwide and our aim is to offer our clients the best car rental solutions. All our staff is trained so we are very surprised. We will make sure to speak to them and avoid this in the future.

Thank you.

Regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
32 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7