2.1 (23) Verified Renter Rating®
 
2.3 (32) Unverified Renter Rating

Unverified Renter Reviews

32 reviews

Back to Listing
Already have an account?
Ratings
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup
0 --> 10,000 miles/km = 5 stars 10,001 --> 20,000 = 4.5 stars 20,001 --> 30,000 = 4 stars 30,001 --> 40,000 = 3.5 stars 40,001 --> 50,000 = 3 stars 50,001 --> 60,000 = 2.5 stars 60,001 --> 70,000 = 2 stars 70,001 --> 80,000 = 1.5 stars 80,001 --> 90,000 = 1 star 90,001+ = 0.5 stars
Location Convenience
How easy was it to find and get to the location to pick up and drop off the car
Staff / Quality of Service
How were you treated? Consider knowledge, professionalism, friendliness, attitude, language skills
Vehicle Condition - Outside
Consider any damage, overall condition and cleanliness and any safety issues eg. Tyre wear
Vehicle Condition - Inside
Consider any damage, overall condition and cleanliness / odor
Comments
Service
You will be able to upload photos and video right after you submit your review if you wish.

We value your contribution and particularly your privacy. We will not rent or sell your email address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

32 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7  
Ordering 
 
BDS
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
3.0
Location Convenience 
 
4.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
4.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.0

Unauthorized Charge

I just received an unauthorized charge of £22.50 on my credit card today 26 Feb 17 - I hired a car with full Gold package in Malta in November 2016 - everything was paid and the car was returned and accepted back by member of staff with full tank of petrol. No email address is on website and phones are not answered - I have told my bank to refuse and reject this charge but can you Gold Cars advise what its all about please ? Thank you

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear BDS,

Please take into consideration to contact with us directly through our Customer Service system so we can look into this on the following link by sending us a query on the bottom right of our website: https://www.goldcar.es/en/atencionCliente/

Kind regards,
Victoria R,
Goldcar Representative.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
4.0
Location Convenience 
 
4.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.5

Disgusting company and will ruin your holiday.

My boyfriend and I are 22 and wanted to rent a car. Normally most car companies charge a bit extra for being under 25 but we searched all over the website and contract and could not find an extra charge so we were chuffed. Wrong! extra €80 when we get there. an extra €250 for not having a credit card but having a visa and insurance, even though there was a box we ticked that claimed it included insurance for an extra £30. After getting over all of this and going home, a cheeky extra $180 came up on our bank accounts. After a lot of e-mails and time, they say it's because of 2 tickets. So rude they didn't e-mail us this at the time and just took our money, leaving us to waste our time finding out. The desk guy treated us like idiots with a sarcastic tone. We paid a lot more for one car than both of our flights including returns. Sneaky company and if you challenge them you will get a 'well it's in the contract' answer. If you don't want to ruin your holiday, stay away from this company. The outside of the car was quite bashed. Ok we weren't charged for that but its great to know if you bash the car they will take your money and not repair the car and just give it to the next customer.

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Hello Jamieson,

After reading your review we understand that you have made tthe reservation via a third party company.

On our website, customers can choose to add the extra for the young driver and also we clearly explain the booking conditions.

As for the extra 180€, if they where because of some fines we have received, we always send an email with the copy of the fines.

Please contact us if you need further information on this.

Thank you.
Regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
2.0
Location Convenience 
 
3.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
2.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.0

Problem

I read many bad comments about the company. I also have a problem with the firm. First of all a car doesn't cost that price which is on the website - it's more expensive! When we rent a car, they needed extra cash. 200 euro reserved amount. Although they promised, I still did not give back the money. I have called the company many times, but nobody answer the phone call. I also write an e-mail, but nothing happened. On the other hand they sent me two e-mails to tell me my opinion about the company.

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear Peter,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

Please note that the 200€ deposit can take up to 30 days to be back into your account.

If you haven't received the money yet, you can open a formal claim here: https://www.goldcar.es/en/incidencias/. Our customer service department will deal with your case directly.

Regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.1
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
2.5
Location Convenience 
 
3.5
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.5
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
2.0

Deposit not returned

I rented a car from this company 20 April returned 27
The deposit of €1900has not yet been returned. 14 June despite many attempts to contact by phone always,after a delay,engaged.
Head office in Spain do not seem to be interested.
I have now put this in the hands of the Maltese police

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear Maximillian,

If you have not been refunded yet for your deposit, please send me an email at [email protected] and I will look into it.

Kind regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
2.0
Location Convenience 
 
5.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.0

VERY BAD!!!

These guys gave us a car with a bald front tire and on the second day (FLAT TYRE) they replaced it and all was fine. We came back to UK and the cheeky guys have charged me for a tyre change with no notice no call no email! The check out guy said all was fine and I showed him the bald tyre in the boot and he said it was all good. Not happy about this at all as I was traveling with my 2 year old son at the time and it could have been worse. I'm writing this review because I've tried to call for the past 2 days and they just keep hanging up on me! Terrible service!!! And the fact they didn't even contact me to let me know with which I will dispute the payment! I have photo evidence of the tyre pryer to removal to show how bad the condition of the tyre was!! Very angry about this!

Service

Comments
The tall girl on the counter didn't even explain anything to me about the car!
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear Bentley,

We apologize for any inconveniences caused. Please contact us at [email protected] and we will review your case in detail with the office in Malta.

Kindest regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
32 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3 4 5 6 7