2.1 (23) Verified Renter Rating®
 
2.3 (32) Unverified Renter Rating

Verified Renter reviews ®

23 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3 4 5  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
5.0
Location Convenience 
 
5.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
5.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
5.0

Just don't use Goldcar

They force you to pay their insurance, even though I bought one with the service on the website. I can live with that, but they told me they will release the reserved money on my credit card in 3-4 days, and it's been more than 2 weeks. They do not respond to e-mails.

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Good morning Elevente,

Please, send us an e-mail to [email protected] adding your number contract as we need to investigate your situation. We will try to solve your problem as soon as posible.

Regards

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
5.0
Location Convenience 
 
5.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
5.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
5.0

1900 Euro deposit not returned after 5 weeks

The car we hired was great, and the actual hire fee was good value, but I am having problems getting the deposit refunded. I paid 1900 Euros deposit on my credit card and this has not yet been refunded, even though it is now 5 weeks since I returned the car in perfect condition. I have emailed and tried phoning but can't get through. So I am not happy with the service as I have now had to pay the amount on my credit card - which is a lot of money - and have no idea when I will get it back.

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear A Glew, please send us an email to [email protected] and we will look into this matter. regards, Victoria R. Goldcar representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
5.0
Location Convenience 
 
4.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
5.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
5.0

Terrible!

Terrible client service! Go elsewhere!

Background: I'm somebody who reads all the fine print before signing anything and picked my credit cards in part because of their insurance benefits.

So first, the lady at the counter told me I had to get extra insurance because otherwise I wouldn't be covered. I told her I had a zero-deductible Collision Damage Waiver from my credit card, but she insisted that it wouldn't work, that their company's policy doesn't accept those. I said I'd read all the terms and conditions and that I would take my chances (to which she replied: "since you know the contract so well maybe you should work here" - i thought it funny at first, but she wasn't smiling).

During the process she wasn't very polite or accommodating, which I can live with since the rentals really are very cheap, but that doesn't excuse snarkiness! One example: my driving license was exchanged in another country last year so the license date on top is from 2015, with the actual test date (2011) on the back. She said I'd have to pay extra new driver insurance, so I pointed out the correct date to her, to which she replied "wow you really don't want to pay anything extra!". Um, not if it's not justified, no?

We moved on to the deposit, which is of 1350 euros. I handed her my credit card but the transaction wouldn't go through; I handed her the other one, same problem. She said that since it didn't work we'd have to buy the extra insurance. I said I'd call my bank and she asked us to step aside. No problem there. (Fun fact: from where we were standing, we could see her screen and the only open window was Facebook.)

While I was on the phone with my bank (who confirmed that there was nothing wrong with my cards, that it was a connection error with the card reader), two German clients were in discussion with the service rep, because they'd bought insurance online when they booked the car and she told them it wasn't valid and they'd have to pay an extra 90 euros to be covered. They looked really confused so I told them, in German, that she was also trying to get us to pay insurance and not to let her bully them into buying unnecessary insurance. The service rep started YELLING at us to get away from the clients, that we were bothering them, and when a manager came over to see what was going on she told him we were refusing to stand on the side and that there we were bothering the other clients.

The manager took us aside, I told him that I was very unhappy with the service we'd received and that we were about to just go to another car rental place. At this point I didn't care how much one of the more established places would cost, I just wanted to get out of there already.

The manager was a lot more helpful, he said he would try my card again and lo and behold, this time the transaction went through without a hitch. The lady scowled at us and said we would have to wait a half hour for our car because it was getting cleaned. We went to the car park anyway and it was ready in five minutes.

I apologize for the rant, I don't usually write long-winded negative reviews but I just wanted to warn anyone who has a bit of extra cash to go to one of the reputable car rentals at the airport in Malta. This saga put a real damper on the beginning of our trip. And on my birthday too!

Final note: the side of the car got scratched up somehow (maybe while it was parked), Goldcar charged me 970 euros for it, which were covered in their entirety by my credit card company. So booyah.

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear chridem,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are constantly trying to improve our services and customer comments are essential for us to do so. We will look into improving the issue you mention with our office manager in Malta.

Hoping you rent with us again on your next visit; have a great holiday!

Kindest regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
5.0
Location Convenience 
 
5.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
4.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
5.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
5.0

Perfect cheap rental

Tout s' est bien passé lors de ma location qui a duré 5 jours. Très peu d'attente lors de la prise en charge à l'aéroport et aucune à la restitution.
Par ailleurs, j'ai dans un premier temps fait le choix d'une boite automatique puis j'ai changé d'avis et l'échang de véhicule s'est fait très simplement et sans frais. Mon véhicule était en exellent état. En fait, il était quasi-neuf (2600 km)
concernant les assurances supplémentaires proposées, elles ne sont pas obligatoires. J'ai fait le choix de m'en passer et je n'ai pas eu de problème.
Personnel serviable et à l'écoute.
pour louer à partir de la France, je suis passé par Rentalcars.com.
Très bonne expérience, rien à redire.

VIA GOOGLE TRANSLATE:

I worked it out well during my rental that lasted five days . Very little wait when picking up at the airport and no restitution.
Moreover , I initially opted for an automatic gearbox and then I changed my mind and EXCH vehicle has done very simply and without charge. My vehicle was in exellent condition . In fact, it was almost new (2600 km)
for additional insurance proposed, they are not mandatory . I made ​​the choice to live without it and I have not had a problem.
Helpful and attentive .
for rent from France, I went through Rentalcars.com .
Very good experience, no complaints.

(Note from RentalCarReviews.com - Rentalcars.com is our partner for bookings. Clicking on the Book Now button on this page provides access to the lowest rates available)

Service

Mentionable Staff
Simon Bugeja
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear Sylvain,

We are very glad to hear that your rental experience with us was satisfactory. Thank you very much for your positive review and informed feedback.

We hope to be of service again soon in one of our numerous locations!

Kindest regards,
Victoria

Cher Sylvain,

Nous sommes très heureux d'entendre que votre expérience de location avec nous a été satisfaisante. Merci beaucoup pour votre critique positive et des commentaires éclairés.

Nous espérons être de service à nouveau bientôt dans un de nos nombreux endroits!

Cordialement,
Victoria

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
3.0
Location Convenience 
 
2.5
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
4.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.0

GOLDCAR MALTA -STAY AWAY

Well well well, it's all been written before.... stay away from this company, they are waste of time and scammers.

I booked a car hire from this company through my credit card company in sydney and I informed them of the poor service too.

Upon arrival at the airport my car was not even there, had to wait for it and then I had to wait for it to be cleaned.... nice.. only after a flght from Sydney... could not ask for more really.

Then I returned the car, no damage just as perfect as it was given to me. The idiot receiving the car told me the security deposit will be refunded straight away because there are no problems with my car. Then when I questioned by there's been an additional charge of EUR70 I was told that is a deposit until the company gets a fine clearance from the police.

Over a month later no refund of my deposit... and the Eur70 turned into a fine that I did not know it existed... apparently you can find out what it is if you requested by email..... I thought its 2015!!!! Why can't you send the fines to the customers.

And ... the customer service representative hung up on me cause he could not answer my questions.... fashionably too.... hello hello I cant hear you... what an idiot... phone calls from Australia are better quality than your mobile phone.

Still Waiting... for my $$$$$$

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear Cilia,

We would appreciate it if you refrained from insulting our staff, who do their work as best as they possibly can.

According to our internal policy, our customers are notified of a fine management fee if they receive a fine during their rental period. They receive the actual fine and the payment method from the local authorities.

Our office in Malta is a franchise and operates a bit differently in this aspect. They pay for both the fine and the management fee and charge it to the customer, who is generally informed of both. Please contact them by email if you require more information: [email protected] .

Kindest regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
23 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3 4 5