2.1 (23) Verified Renter Rating®
 
2.3 (32) Unverified Renter Rating

Verified Renter reviews ®

23 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3 4 5  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
5.0
Location Convenience 
 
5.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
5.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
5.0

Just don't use Goldcar

They force you to pay their insurance, even though I bought one with the service on the website. I can live with that, but they told me they will release the reserved money on my credit card in 3-4 days, and it's been more than 2 weeks. They do not respond to e-mails.

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Good morning Elevente,

Please, send us an e-mail to [email protected] adding your number contract as we need to investigate your situation. We will try to solve your problem as soon as posible.

Regards

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
5.0
Location Convenience 
 
5.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
5.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
5.0

1900 Euro deposit not returned after 5 weeks

The car we hired was great, and the actual hire fee was good value, but I am having problems getting the deposit refunded. I paid 1900 Euros deposit on my credit card and this has not yet been refunded, even though it is now 5 weeks since I returned the car in perfect condition. I have emailed and tried phoning but can't get through. So I am not happy with the service as I have now had to pay the amount on my credit card - which is a lot of money - and have no idea when I will get it back.

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear A Glew, please send us an email to [email protected] and we will look into this matter. regards, Victoria R. Goldcar representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.8
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
5.0
Location Convenience 
 
5.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
4.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
5.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
5.0

Perfect cheap rental

Tout s' est bien passé lors de ma location qui a duré 5 jours. Très peu d'attente lors de la prise en charge à l'aéroport et aucune à la restitution.
Par ailleurs, j'ai dans un premier temps fait le choix d'une boite automatique puis j'ai changé d'avis et l'échang de véhicule s'est fait très simplement et sans frais. Mon véhicule était en exellent état. En fait, il était quasi-neuf (2600 km)
concernant les assurances supplémentaires proposées, elles ne sont pas obligatoires. J'ai fait le choix de m'en passer et je n'ai pas eu de problème.
Personnel serviable et à l'écoute.
pour louer à partir de la France, je suis passé par Rentalcars.com.
Très bonne expérience, rien à redire.

VIA GOOGLE TRANSLATE:

I worked it out well during my rental that lasted five days . Very little wait when picking up at the airport and no restitution.
Moreover , I initially opted for an automatic gearbox and then I changed my mind and EXCH vehicle has done very simply and without charge. My vehicle was in exellent condition . In fact, it was almost new (2600 km)
for additional insurance proposed, they are not mandatory . I made ​​the choice to live without it and I have not had a problem.
Helpful and attentive .
for rent from France, I went through Rentalcars.com .
Very good experience, no complaints.

(Note from RentalCarReviews.com - Rentalcars.com is our partner for bookings. Clicking on the Book Now button on this page provides access to the lowest rates available)

Service

Mentionable Staff
Simon Bugeja
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear Sylvain,

We are very glad to hear that your rental experience with us was satisfactory. Thank you very much for your positive review and informed feedback.

We hope to be of service again soon in one of our numerous locations!

Kindest regards,
Victoria

Cher Sylvain,

Nous sommes très heureux d'entendre que votre expérience de location avec nous a été satisfaisante. Merci beaucoup pour votre critique positive et des commentaires éclairés.

Nous espérons être de service à nouveau bientôt dans un de nos nombreux endroits!

Cordialement,
Victoria

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
2.0
Location Convenience 
 
4.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.5
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.0

Deposit stolen despite buying their surcharged insurance

My relatives rented a car from Goldcar MALTA over the last week, 14-19 of September. They was pushed to buy their super relax cover insurance, which I did. Later on the third day, my father noticed a dent that could only be seen if viewed from a distance, as it was in the lower bodywork. He called them immediately and informed them (16.09 9.49), as per their instructions for the super relax cover, and was told to “not worry about it”.

Upon returning the car the parking attendant, Mevrui, agreed that it was old damage caused by the previous renter, but still charged me 1150 euros as a “procedure”. He claimed that we would receive it back “from the insurance company”. He made no mention of my super relax cover, nor of the claiming procedure. My parents left the country shortly that morning.

During the afternoon, I went to speak with the attendant, who claimed that we would be able to claim it back online, even though our insurance was with goldCar. The rental office personnel gave me blank stares, while the head office simply told me that they would look into it.

Following our departure from Malta, we have been in constant contact with the Malta Office. We have got them to admit that we had super relax cover insurance, However, they are still refusing to return the deposit, on the technicality that I did not get a police report, despite him calling them and confirming that it wasn’t necessary after spotting the damage.

I’m extremely distressed about this situation and in case I cannot reclaim the charged amount as promised by GoldCar, I will pursue action with the European Consumer Protection Agency.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
4.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.5
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.0

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Hello everyone. If you are informing yourself before renting I have only one advice to you and it is to stay away from this company. I was so disappointed with the service, the car and the actual insurance scam they force on you. But those aren't even the worst parts, the car they rented us was in absolutely no condition to be on roads. Here is a brief list of things that we noticed about the car about 5-10 minutes after leaving the airport: -Both of the side view mirrors could not change positions unless manually forced because they had been previously broken. -The reservoir was less than half full (when we had paid for it to be a full tank) -One of the headlights was burnt out (or non-existent). -There was no windshield wiper liquid. -The clutch was overly used and could barely change -Passenger outside front body had bumps and huge scrapes on it. The door made noise when we opened it. -The mileage stated in the car was MUCH more than the one stated on the paperwork. -The carpets on the ground were ripped. For a full review of our HORRIBLE experience please see our review on our website : https://thegoodbears.com/goldcar-rentals This is far from being a single incident and it is obvious that this "company" is a scam. Do not be fooled by the apparent good deals.

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Hello Gabrielle,

We are surprised to hear that the vehicle you were given was not in optimal condition. Offering top rate vehicles is our number one priority, which is why 70% of our car fleet is renewed annually. We do think that the office sold out all the cars and maybe decided to use a older one. However this is extremly unusual.

I hope you understand.

Thank you,
Regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
23 results - showing 1 - 5  
1 2 3 4 5