Goldcar Car Rental - Malta Luqa International Airport - MLA - Malta

AirportGoldcar Car Rental - Malta Luqa International Airport - MLA - Malta

 
2.1 (21) Verified Renter Rating®
 
2.3 (32) Unverified Renter Rating

Details

Address
Malta Luqa International Airport
Malta - Malta
Postcode
LQA4000
Country
Malta
Phone
+356 7937 1938
Latitude
35.857497
Longitude
14.4775
Airport Service
On Airport - Counter & Car in Terminal
Is this a Corporate Location?
Yes Yes

Hours

Monday
09:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Drop Box for Returns
No No
After Hours Pickup
Yes - On Request Yes - On Request
After Hours Surcharge
€47.20 - flight number essential

Currency/Tax/Deposit

Cash / Debit Card Information
Cash/Debit rentals are not possible
Only Visa and Mastercard are accepted
American Express, Diners Club, Postepay, Debit Cards - additional cover must be purchased.
Deposit
Amount equaling the CDW excess for rented car group. See Insurance/CDW.
Currency
EUR - Euro

Vehicles/Fuel

Fuel Policy
Full to Empty
Additional Fuel Information
The Rapid Return System (SDR - which is the default option when booking) entails the provision of a fast and agile service for vehicle rental: the rental vehicle is handed over with a full tank of fuel and may be returned without the need to top up the tank so the customer is not obliged to search for petrol stations close to the drop-off location or to wait around unnecessarily while fuel levels are verified. This system allows customers to reduce the time spent waiting for the rental agreement and check-in procedures, including verification of the fuel level, to be carried out; this enhances the quality of the service provided. This system includes refunding the customer for the amount of fuel remaining in the vehicle's tank when it is returned, as indicated by the eighths of a tank recorded by the vehicle's fuel gauge excluding the amount corresponding to logistical and operational costs. The price of this System is determined in line with the vehicle model hired, its fuel capacity, the price of fuel at the time the vehicle is delivered, and operations and logistics expenses (GG) SDR = Vehicle model (in litres): x Price (€/litre) + GG Where: , Vehicle model (in litres): is the capacity in litres of the fuel tank of the vehicle model. , Price (€/litre): this is the unit price of the fuel, using as a reference figure the average price shown on the following web page. The value to be used is the average of the cheapest and most expensive rates available on the date they were looked up. , GG: these are the necessary costs of operations and logistics, whose final price is associated with the specific model of vehicle supplied and can be consulted using the link below under "Service Costs".
Unleaded Fuel Price
Diesel Fuel Price
Vehicle Types Available
  • Manual / Stick Shift
  • Automatic Transmission
  • Estate / Stationwagon
  • Minivan / People Carrier
Diesel Vehicle Availability
Yes - On request for some car groups Yes - On request for some car groups
Automatic charge if car delivered is diesel
Diesel Fee per Day
€2.00 per day

Age/Drivers

Minimum Age
21 years
Must have had a licence for min 1 year
Maximum Age
NA
Young Driver Surcharge
€8.26 per day - under 25 years
€99.12 maximum per driver per rental
Over 71 years €8.26 per day, maximum €99.00 per rental
Additional Drivers per Day
€5.90 per day per driver
Additional Drivers per Rental
€82.60 per rental - 3 max

Insurance

CDW Price per Day
Included in rental price
Collision Damage Waiver Excess
€1500.00 - Groups X/XG/AA/BB/CC/CG
€1800.00 - Groups D/DD/DG/E/F/FF/L/LL/N/R/S/T/V/VV
€2100.00 - Groups G/GG/I/J/JJ/K/P/PP/Q
CDW never includes damage to tyres, tyre rims, vehicle interior, outside rear view mirrors, glass, underside, flat tyres and blow-outs, or damage to the clutch.
CDW does not cover fees for recharging the battery, loss of keys, tow truck or transfer by taxi after an accident.
CDW does not cover deposit for replacement vehicle or compensation for the days the vehicle cannot be used due to repairs.
Excess may be reduced to Zero on purchase by taking out Additional Cover - SDW.
€50.00 Accidents Administration Fee applies in case of damage if SDW is not purchased on arrival.
Customers who do not wish to take out this cover must leave a deposit equal to the excess amount.
Super CDW Price per Day
When arriving at the office to collect the vehicle, you will be able to extend your level of cover if desired. The fee and the excess waiver (where applicable) will vary depending on the destination, season, vehicle type and rental period.
Super CDW Excess
Zero
Theft Protection Price per Day
Included in rental price
Theft Protection Excess
€1500.00 - Groups X/XG/AA/BB/CC/CG
€1800.00 - Groups D/DD/DG/E/F/FF/L/LL/N/R/S/T/V/VV
€2100.00 - Groups G/GG/I/J/JJ/K/P/PP/Q
€50.00 Administration Fee applies in case of theft if SDW is not purchased on arrival
WI Price per Rental
Included as part of SDW
Windscreen Insurance Excess
Zero

Equipment

GPS Unit
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
€90.00 deposit required
GPS Price per Day
€11.80
GPS Price per Rental
€165.20
GPS Replacement Price
€90.00
Baby Capsule
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Baby Capsule Price per Day
€5.90
Baby Capsule Price per Rental
€82.60
Child Seat
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Child Seat Price per Day
€5.90
Child Seat Price per Rental
€82.60
Booster Seat
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Booster Seat Price per Day
€5.90
Booster Seat Price per Rental
€82.60
Snow Chains
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability

T&Cs

Maximum Rental Duration
89 days
Mileage Allowed Per Day
Unlimited
Driving Restrictions
Those wishing to travel to Gozo island must purchase additional travel cover. The cost of this travel cover is €9.00 per day up to a maximum of €90.00 per rental. It's not allowed to take the car out of the island of Malta to any other destination.
Loss of Keys Charge
Up to €280.00 plus tax.
Loss of Registration Charge
Up to €280.00 plus tax.
Loss of Licence Plate Charge
Up to €280.00 plus tax.
Extraordinary Cleaning
€150.00 plus tax.
Fine Handling Charge
€40.00 plus tax.
Claim Administration Charge
Up to €150.00 plus tax.
Cancellation Policy
A FULL REFUND will be processed if bookings are cancelled more than 1 hour before the pickup time.
NO REFUND for cancellations received less than 1 hour before the pickup time.
No Show Fee
No refund for no-shows.
Amended Return Fee
No refunds are provided in case the vehicle is returned early.
Grace Period
59 minutes

Notes

If vehicle is returned after the 59 minute grace period, a charge of €40 plus an extra days rental will apply. On the other hand, if a client does not receive their car within 59 minutes of signing a rental agreement, Goldcar will compensate the client.
Swap Start/End

Verified Renter reviews ®

Overall rating 
 
2.5
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
3.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
5.0

GoldCar Malta (Int Airport) Scammed/overCharged For Damages.

Goldcar Car Hire (Malta Int Airport)

Beware they're crooks and they make their money from scamming people for extortionate prices. If you've already booked with them and don't want to cancel as there is a high fee make sure to take pictures of the car before hand and a videos is a must! don't make my mistake. When i returned the car i admit i had a slight scratch (just a scratch no dents etc) on the front bumper, i had got charged 440 euros for this on top off, 130 damage admin fee and 80 euros for the cars being out of service for 2 days (i showed the picture to a local garage and they said they would charge no more than 80 euros to fix) on top of this there was a scratch on the passenger side wing wirror, i'm pretty sure it was there before i picked up the car, me and my friends did not know about it untill we dropped the car off, so that's 220 euro added to the damages, all in all totaling up to 1000 euros! I was upset about this but was re-insured again and again by the goldcar hire workers when i returned the car im fully covered from the insurance company i booked through with (argus car hire) that i wouldn't have to pay a penny along as the excess is under 1400 euros im covered for all this, they explained the process of sending them the reciepts, the forms, the links you go on etc. So i signed for the damages based on this and got my flight back home. Then phoned up the insurance company only to find they've lied! im covered for anything over 1400 euros anything under that i have to pay, so i paid for everything, really not happy as i wouldn't off signed for the damages otherwise as i admit the scratch was mine i should only of paid 220 euros on that on top of fees (that's still expensive) but the fact i forked out a 1000 euros for the damage done is a joke, im suprised this company is still going, they're con artists and I don't know how they get away with it, they've got it down to an art.

Other things to mention

• When I picked up the car I was given no diagram of the car to mark out any signs of damages (I was unaware about this until my parents lectured me on it when I arrived back home, I'm 21). they simply started up the car for me and told me to walk around the car for signs of damages, at the time I couldn’t see any damages.

• The car I requested on Argus was a Opel Astra, the car I got was a Peugeot 2008 SUV, a much bigger car then expected (not great for driving in narrow streets in Malta like silema and Valletta)

• GoldCar Rentals Malta, google reviews, are really bad, a lot of people have been scammed out there money with similar stories.

• I could not find an email directly locating to Goldcar Rentals, I did find an email supposedly directed to their CEO… I sent them an email explaining the situation and that I wasn’t happy, they replied back to me saying they are looking into it and investigating it, which is weird cause they never asked for a pacific car details such as the number plate or customer code or even my name, anything like that, so how can they identify the car/incident?

(they also give you super relax cover or something stupid where if you have any damages to the car, ring them or report it within an hour or the cover is void, this is a con, the contract as a whole is a con with unfair terms, but they know you are not likely to cancel when reading through it or not sign it as there is a 50 euro cancellation fee i belive so you go ahead and sign the contract with rubbish terms).

Best bet, pay extra for a more reputable car hire company.

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear customer,

Thanks for your comment. We're trying to improve our services and the opinion of customers is essential to do so.

Please contact us directly from our Customer Service system through the following link: https://www.goldcar.es/en/atencionCliente/ at the bottom right of our website, you can submit a query.

Kind regards,

Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
4.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.5
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.0

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Hello everyone. If you are informing yourself before renting I have only one advice to you and it is to stay away from this company. I was so disappointed with the service, the car and the actual insurance scam they force on you. But those aren't even the worst parts, the car they rented us was in absolutely no condition to be on roads. Here is a brief list of things that we noticed about the car about 5-10 minutes after leaving the airport: -Both of the side view mirrors could not change positions unless manually forced because they had been previously broken. -The reservoir was less than half full (when we had paid for it to be a full tank) -One of the headlights was burnt out (or non-existent). -There was no windshield wiper liquid. -The clutch was overly used and could barely change -Passenger outside front body had bumps and huge scrapes on it. The door made noise when we opened it. -The mileage stated in the car was MUCH more than the one stated on the paperwork. -The carpets on the ground were ripped. For a full review of our HORRIBLE experience please see our review on our website : https://thegoodbears.com/goldcar-rentals This is far from being a single incident and it is obvious that this "company" is a scam. Do not be fooled by the apparent good deals.

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Hello Gabrielle,

We are surprised to hear that the vehicle you were given was not in optimal condition. Offering top rate vehicles is our number one priority, which is why 70% of our car fleet is renewed annually. We do think that the office sold out all the cars and maybe decided to use a older one. However this is extremly unusual.

I hope you understand.

Thank you,
Regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 09, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
1.5
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
2.0
Location Convenience 
 
2.5
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.0

BEWARE of renting from Gold Car in Malta

Stay AWAY from renting any cars with Gold Car in Malta. When we returned the car to the Malta Airport location, there were 3 people ahead of us that were returning their cars. ALL OF THEM - and I mean ALL OF THEM were charged fees due to supposed car damage. The folks in front of us had to fork over the equivalent of $700 and then we got hit with $500. It seems to be how they make their money, hitting you with bogus charges. They may come up the cheapest car rental when you search, but believe me, you'll wind up paying extra in the end. NOT WORTH THE TIME OR MONEY!

Service

Comments
This is in response to the "Victoria R." Gold Car Representative. Unfortunately, my case is not a highly unusual situation. Read the hundreds of negative reviews Gold Car is receiving. Maybe the very fact that you feel my case is unusual is why Gold Car is so inept and a disaster. Gold Car should be investigated for rip off tactics and for fleecing unsuspecting customers when they turn in their cars. This is how you are really making your money, by charging outlandish fees for damage that doesn't exist, and then holding the customers hostage until they pay. Most of us return our cars at the airport location so we have planes to catch and don't have time to deal with your ignorant staff. I hope my review goes a long way to help steer others away from ever dealing with Gold Car. You are not worth the headache!
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear TaraMann2016,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

Please note that your case is a highly unusual situation. Therefore we invite you to open a query here: https://www.goldcar.es/en/incidencias/. Our customer service department will deal with your case directly.

Regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
1.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.0

Shocking Experience

I booked a car with Goldcar Malta through Atlas Choice. Below is the ongoing saga. I would advise searching the Internet and reading the terrible reviews on Goldcar Malta before risking 

14.08.2016 14:26 Our car hire was arranged for Friday August 5th with collection from Malta Airport with Goldcar. Unfortunately we did not make our flight due to accident and delays on A14 and then delays at car parking and even further delays with security clearance. The boarding gate just closed as we got to the gate. I tried to contact Atlas Choice to rearrange the car collection to the following day but your office was closed. I also had family in Malta phone your partner Goldcar office at Malta airport to rearrange the car pick up but despite them calling repeatedly throughout the evening prior to the pick up time no one ever answered the phone. On Saturday August 6th I contacted your office and your customer service advisor said he would contact the Goldcar office at Malta airport to see if he could rearrange the pick up. Your advisor called back later that morning when I was at Gatwick airport about to board our rearranged flight and said no one answered the phone to him either despite calling numerous times. Your customer service advisor said we would have to go to the Goldcar desk at Malta airport and see if they would supply the car but said that it may have been cancelled as a no show. I asked what happens in that case and he said that we would have lost the car and that we would not get a refund. When we got to Malta Goldcar said the hire had been cancelled as a no show and worse still they didn't have any cars available for hire. We had to arrange taxis to our villa near then arrange alternative car hire and pay again. I have been informed by Goldcar that they will not receive payment from Atlas Choice for the car and that my payment is held by Atlas Choice. I am writing to request a refund of my payment as I feel I did everything possible to rearrange the car collection prior to my scheduled pick up time but as Atlas Choice had not provided any phone number that could be contacted it is a failure by Atlas Choice that has caused this. I have notified my bank that I will be requesting a charge back on this payment if I can not resolve this with Atlas Choice within 7 days. I think it is unacceptable that the service I paid Atlas Choice for has not been provided. I would have been happy to collect the car 1 day later which was after all still within the hire period which I paid for. 

16.08.2016 09:47 - Viktorija Thank you for contacting Atlas Choice complaints department. Atlaschoice aims to resolve complaints within 28 days of receipt. If the nature of your complaint is with our partner at the pick – up country we will assist you by opening the communication and dialogue between yourself and our partner , however Atlas Choice maybe unable to respond specifically to any points raised. Please ensure that you take note of your ticket number in order to see your progress. Please don’t open new tickets for the same booking number or complaint, as this will simply delay the response and override the previous ticket that is in progress. 

16.08.2016 13:06 Good Afternoon, Thank you for your reply, I'm afraid that I can not accept that my complaint is with the agent you assigned the hire to as my business was conducted with Atlas Choice. Should you have an issue with the agent you assigned the hire to then that is for you to resolve. Simply passing the buck to your agent is not acceptable as my business was conducted with Atlas Choice and who you assign as your agent is beyond my control. As I explained in my initial email I intend to initiate a charge back with my bank for the amount paid to Atlas Choice if I can not resolve this matter with Atlas Choice. Could you reply letting me know if you intend to refund my payment to Atlas Choice, if not I will instruct my bank. Chris Hawkins 

19.08.2016 13:21 Good Afternoon, As I have not received a response to my message on your system dated 16/08/2016 I will be instructing my card provider to charge back the full £234.29 charged to my card. It is disappointing that Atlas Choice has chosen not to discuss the issues surrounding this booking. Should you wish to discuss this please feel free to contact me on my mobile 07782 xxxxxx or alternatively by the email you have used previously. Thanks You Chris Hawkins 

19.08.2016 14:46 - Viktorija We would like to inform you that we still haven’t had any response from our partner and we have e mailed them again to respond to your query.

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear Chris,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We're highly surprised reading your review and we'd like to help you.

We recommend you to open a query online where your case can be ivestigated and checked. Here you have the link of how to do it: www.goldcar.es/en/atencionCliente

Regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 12, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
1.1
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
1.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.5

They simply destroy my vacations in Malta!

At 07/28/2016 I rent the car from your online website, in Malta. They charge me the cost for 5 days and after I sign the paper, they told me that I have to pay extra for the insurance. It was in the contract so I did. But after that they ask me again, to hold an extra amount of 200€! I did not see it anywhere written, and they inform me about it AFTER I pay 212 for car+insurance. I was whiling to do that, but only with cash (that would be provided from a friend), because I did not have any extra money in my credit card, and if I was going to lose an extra amount of 200€, I could have a huge problem, since I was in vacation and I was in need of some money obviously! I explain to them the facts and they said to me that they do not accept cash! For that reason, I decide that I do not want the car any more because I was going to be left in Malta, in a foreign country, with no money! They simply say that they do not care and that if I choose to not receive the car, I have to pay 87.25 plus the insurance, PLUS an extra 63€ fee for not doing my cancellation 24 hours ago! So I would have to pay 275€ for NOTHING. No car! No nothing! As you can imagine at this point I realize that I made a huge mistake for trusting those people, and therefore GoldCar company as well! So the 275€ for nothing was not acceptable, so I decide to let them hold the extra 200€ from my card. After 1.5 hour that I waited standing up in the line (with countless other customers) I receive the keys for the car. (that was at 13:00) I took the car, I went to my destination, and after a few hours, I try to return to my home when I saw that I have no head lights! They gave me a car with NO proper operating head lights! I was almost blind, especially in parts of the street that there was no proper lighting (which is the case in most roads in Malta)! Because it was dangerous for myself and my friends in the car, we decide to leave the car and return by bus. The next day I went back, 30+ km away, I took the car and I went back in the airport to ask them to fix the issue. I arrived at 16:10 and your employee told me that the mechanic was gone 10 minutes ago! I told him that since it’s a simple light bulb, he can change it, or even I can if this is not his job! He simply told me that I have to come back again tomorrow! When I explain to him that I live away from the airport and that I can not drive this car at night because it was unsafe, he literally told me that HE DO NOT CARE, with an ironic smile on his face! After that ridiculous respond I left the place and never got back! There was no reason to trust that ANY of those employees will do his job PROPERLY the next time. So I was in vacation, I rent a car from your company, I pay 412€ for 5 days, a lot of extra money for no reason, I was left in a foreign country with no money, and I could not use my car half of the day, because someone did not do a proper inspection before handing the car over to me! If all of that is acceptable to you, it is definitely not for me! But that was not the only problems! At 8/2/2016 I went back to hand over the car, with full tank, no damages, and no police tickets. I ask them about how many days will it take for the release of the 200€. 2 different people told me that it will be 2-3 days! I went back at 8/6/2016 the day that I was leaving Malta and ask them again since the money was not released! They told me again… in 2-3 days! Today is 12/8/2016, and I can not see any funds released yet! The bottom line is that you as a company destroy my vacations, they actually told me that they DO NOT CARE about all of those issues, you left me with no money, your gave me a dangerous vehicle not properly inspected before handing it over to the client, and so far you did not gave me back my money! This is not acceptable and from this point forward I will see it as a fraud! I will contact my bank, and my legal advisor for the next step! You company gave me the WORST experience ever. And of course... no body have answered my emails yet!

Service

Mentionable Staff
All Office and Parking employees
Comments
The most disrespectful and ignorant employees that i have ever saw.
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Hola Kim,

First of all, we want to apologize for any inconvenience this situation may have caused. Please, believe us when we tell you this is a not usual situation. In fact, we've involved different departments in order to know all the information about this situation.

We invite you to contact us to www.goldcar.es/en/atencionCliente
There, you can open a query so our Customer Service can investigate and see what happened in order to help you.

Please, accept our appologize and he hope to see you again.

Regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representant

Was this review helpful to you? 
View all Verified Renter Reviews

Unverified Renter Reviews

32 reviews

View all reviews View most helpful
Already have an account?
Ratings
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup
0 --> 10,000 miles/km = 5 stars 10,001 --> 20,000 = 4.5 stars 20,001 --> 30,000 = 4 stars 30,001 --> 40,000 = 3.5 stars 40,001 --> 50,000 = 3 stars 50,001 --> 60,000 = 2.5 stars 60,001 --> 70,000 = 2 stars 70,001 --> 80,000 = 1.5 stars 80,001 --> 90,000 = 1 star 90,001+ = 0.5 stars
Location Convenience
How easy was it to find and get to the location to pick up and drop off the car
Staff / Quality of Service
How were you treated? Consider knowledge, professionalism, friendliness, attitude, language skills
Vehicle Condition - Outside
Consider any damage, overall condition and cleanliness and any safety issues eg. Tyre wear
Vehicle Condition - Inside
Consider any damage, overall condition and cleanliness / odor
Comments
Service
You will be able to upload photos and video right after you submit your review if you wish.

We value your contribution and particularly your privacy. We will not rent or sell your email address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

BDS
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
3.0
Location Convenience 
 
4.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
4.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.0

Unauthorized Charge

I just received an unauthorized charge of £22.50 on my credit card today 26 Feb 17 - I hired a car with full Gold package in Malta in November 2016 - everything was paid and the car was returned and accepted back by member of staff with full tank of petrol. No email address is on website and phones are not answered - I have told my bank to refuse and reject this charge but can you Gold Cars advise what its all about please ? Thank you

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
1.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.0

Poor Victoria

Poor Viktoria. She need an analist after work....

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
4.0
Location Convenience 
 
4.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
4.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
4.0

Terrible Service

Imagine arriving in a foreign country and your first experience of speaking to a local is the hire car company whom I might add are getting your custom. Goldcar staff at the airport seemed to completely indifferent at best and rude at worst to the level of service they gave. Upon requesting my car the tried to sell me insurance. When I declined they started talking to me in a rude and abrupt manner to such an extent I decided that in fact I do not want to proceed with the rental any more. They then said they would charge me 69EUROS for cancelling for something I had already paid for. I had to take the car in the end. A car I might add was a plastered with their slogans and stickers all over it. In summary, a terrible experience with the staff, poor car and put an all rounder dampener right at the start of the holiday. Such a shame.

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Hello Ikon,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the rest of the community.

We are an international company with more than 80 offices worldwide and our aim is to offer our clients the best car rental solutions. All our staff is trained so we are very surprised. We will make sure to speak to them and avoid this in the future.

Thank you.

Regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
4.0
Location Convenience 
 
4.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.5

Disgusting company and will ruin your holiday.

My boyfriend and I are 22 and wanted to rent a car. Normally most car companies charge a bit extra for being under 25 but we searched all over the website and contract and could not find an extra charge so we were chuffed. Wrong! extra €80 when we get there. an extra €250 for not having a credit card but having a visa and insurance, even though there was a box we ticked that claimed it included insurance for an extra £30. After getting over all of this and going home, a cheeky extra $180 came up on our bank accounts. After a lot of e-mails and time, they say it's because of 2 tickets. So rude they didn't e-mail us this at the time and just took our money, leaving us to waste our time finding out. The desk guy treated us like idiots with a sarcastic tone. We paid a lot more for one car than both of our flights including returns. Sneaky company and if you challenge them you will get a 'well it's in the contract' answer. If you don't want to ruin your holiday, stay away from this company. The outside of the car was quite bashed. Ok we weren't charged for that but its great to know if you bash the car they will take your money and not repair the car and just give it to the next customer.

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Hello Jamieson,

After reading your review we understand that you have made tthe reservation via a third party company.

On our website, customers can choose to add the extra for the young driver and also we clearly explain the booking conditions.

As for the extra 180€, if they where because of some fines we have received, we always send an email with the copy of the fines.

Please contact us if you need further information on this.

Thank you.
Regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
3.5
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.5

Avoid this company like the plague

My daughter used this company last week and it seems like the norm on reading these reviews that on return the company say there is some damage to the car. She took photographs and there was no damage but they have charged her £800! The company needs investigating 

Service

Comments
The man on the gold car desk was very rude to my daughter as the booking had to be changed due to unforeseen circumstances. Very unhelpful
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Hello Garnett,

Please note that if we have found damages that were not there upon collection of the car. All the damages have to be marked by the angent and confirmed and signed by the client.

If you have pictures proving otherwise please contact us via https://www.goldcar.es/en/atencionCliente/ and we will look into it and assist you.

Thank you.

Regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
View all Unverified Renter Reviews