Goldcar Car Rental - Malta Luqa International Airport - MLA - Malta

AirportGoldcar Car Rental - Malta Luqa International Airport - MLA - Malta

 
2.1 (23) Verified Renter Rating®
 
2.3 (32) Unverified Renter Rating

Details

Address
Malta Luqa International Airport
Malta - Malta
Postcode
LQA4000
Country
Malta
Phone
+356 7937 1938
Latitude
35.857497
Longitude
14.4775
Airport Service
On Airport - Counter & Car in Terminal
Is this a Corporate Location?
Yes Yes

Hours

Monday
09:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Drop Box for Returns
No No
After Hours Pickup
Yes - On Request Yes - On Request
After Hours Surcharge
€47.20 - flight number essential

Currency/Tax/Deposit

Cash / Debit Card Information
Cash/Debit rentals are not possible
Only Visa and Mastercard are accepted
American Express, Diners Club, Postepay, Debit Cards - additional cover must be purchased.
Deposit
Amount equaling the CDW excess for rented car group. See Insurance/CDW.
Currency
EUR - Euro

Vehicles/Fuel

Fuel Policy
Full to Empty
Additional Fuel Information
The Rapid Return System (SDR - which is the default option when booking) entails the provision of a fast and agile service for vehicle rental: the rental vehicle is handed over with a full tank of fuel and may be returned without the need to top up the tank so the customer is not obliged to search for petrol stations close to the drop-off location or to wait around unnecessarily while fuel levels are verified. This system allows customers to reduce the time spent waiting for the rental agreement and check-in procedures, including verification of the fuel level, to be carried out; this enhances the quality of the service provided. This system includes refunding the customer for the amount of fuel remaining in the vehicle's tank when it is returned, as indicated by the eighths of a tank recorded by the vehicle's fuel gauge excluding the amount corresponding to logistical and operational costs. The price of this System is determined in line with the vehicle model hired, its fuel capacity, the price of fuel at the time the vehicle is delivered, and operations and logistics expenses (GG) SDR = Vehicle model (in litres): x Price (€/litre) + GG Where: , Vehicle model (in litres): is the capacity in litres of the fuel tank of the vehicle model. , Price (€/litre): this is the unit price of the fuel, using as a reference figure the average price shown on the following web page. The value to be used is the average of the cheapest and most expensive rates available on the date they were looked up. , GG: these are the necessary costs of operations and logistics, whose final price is associated with the specific model of vehicle supplied and can be consulted using the link below under "Service Costs".
Unleaded Fuel Price
Diesel Fuel Price
Vehicle Types Available
  • Manual / Stick Shift
  • Automatic Transmission
  • Estate / Stationwagon
  • Minivan / People Carrier
Diesel Vehicle Availability
Yes - On request for some car groups Yes - On request for some car groups
Automatic charge if car delivered is diesel
Diesel Fee per Day
€2.00 per day

Age/Drivers

Minimum Age
21 years
Must have had a licence for min 1 year
Maximum Age
NA
Young Driver Surcharge
€8.26 per day - under 25 years
€99.12 maximum per driver per rental
Over 71 years €8.26 per day, maximum €99.00 per rental
Additional Drivers per Day
€5.90 per day per driver
Additional Drivers per Rental
€82.60 per rental - 3 max

Insurance

CDW Price per Day
Included in rental price
Collision Damage Waiver Excess
€1500.00 - Groups X/XG/AA/BB/CC/CG
€1800.00 - Groups D/DD/DG/E/F/FF/L/LL/N/R/S/T/V/VV
€2100.00 - Groups G/GG/I/J/JJ/K/P/PP/Q
CDW never includes damage to tyres, tyre rims, vehicle interior, outside rear view mirrors, glass, underside, flat tyres and blow-outs, or damage to the clutch.
CDW does not cover fees for recharging the battery, loss of keys, tow truck or transfer by taxi after an accident.
CDW does not cover deposit for replacement vehicle or compensation for the days the vehicle cannot be used due to repairs.
Excess may be reduced to Zero on purchase by taking out Additional Cover - SDW.
€50.00 Accidents Administration Fee applies in case of damage if SDW is not purchased on arrival.
Customers who do not wish to take out this cover must leave a deposit equal to the excess amount.
Super CDW Price per Day
When arriving at the office to collect the vehicle, you will be able to extend your level of cover if desired. The fee and the excess waiver (where applicable) will vary depending on the destination, season, vehicle type and rental period.
Super CDW Excess
Zero
Theft Protection Price per Day
Included in rental price
Theft Protection Excess
€1500.00 - Groups X/XG/AA/BB/CC/CG
€1800.00 - Groups D/DD/DG/E/F/FF/L/LL/N/R/S/T/V/VV
€2100.00 - Groups G/GG/I/J/JJ/K/P/PP/Q
€50.00 Administration Fee applies in case of theft if SDW is not purchased on arrival
WI Price per Rental
Included as part of SDW
Windscreen Insurance Excess
Zero

Equipment

GPS Unit
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
€90.00 deposit required
GPS Price per Day
€11.80
GPS Price per Rental
€165.20
GPS Replacement Price
€90.00
Baby Capsule
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Baby Capsule Price per Day
€5.90
Baby Capsule Price per Rental
€82.60
Child Seat
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Child Seat Price per Day
€5.90
Child Seat Price per Rental
€82.60
Booster Seat
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability
Booster Seat Price per Day
€5.90
Booster Seat Price per Rental
€82.60
Snow Chains
Yes - Subject to Availability Yes - Subject to Availability

T&Cs

Maximum Rental Duration
89 days
Mileage Allowed Per Day
Unlimited
Driving Restrictions
Those wishing to travel to Gozo island must purchase additional travel cover. The cost of this travel cover is €9.00 per day up to a maximum of €90.00 per rental. It's not allowed to take the car out of the island of Malta to any other destination.
Loss of Keys Charge
Up to €280.00 plus tax.
Loss of Registration Charge
Up to €280.00 plus tax.
Loss of Licence Plate Charge
Up to €280.00 plus tax.
Extraordinary Cleaning
€150.00 plus tax.
Fine Handling Charge
€40.00 plus tax.
Claim Administration Charge
Up to €150.00 plus tax.
Cancellation Policy
A FULL REFUND will be processed if bookings are cancelled more than 1 hour before the pickup time.
NO REFUND for cancellations received less than 1 hour before the pickup time.
No Show Fee
No refund for no-shows.
Amended Return Fee
No refunds are provided in case the vehicle is returned early.
Grace Period
59 minutes

Notes

If vehicle is returned after the 59 minute grace period, a charge of €40 plus an extra days rental will apply. On the other hand, if a client does not receive their car within 59 minutes of signing a rental agreement, Goldcar will compensate the client.
Swap Start/End

Verified Renter reviews ®

Overall rating 
 
1.9
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
2.0
Location Convenience 
 
4.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.5
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.0

Deposit stolen despite buying their surcharged insurance

My relatives rented a car from Goldcar MALTA over the last week, 14-19 of September. They was pushed to buy their super relax cover insurance, which I did. Later on the third day, my father noticed a dent that could only be seen if viewed from a distance, as it was in the lower bodywork. He called them immediately and informed them (16.09 9.49), as per their instructions for the super relax cover, and was told to “not worry about it”.

Upon returning the car the parking attendant, Mevrui, agreed that it was old damage caused by the previous renter, but still charged me 1150 euros as a “procedure”. He claimed that we would receive it back “from the insurance company”. He made no mention of my super relax cover, nor of the claiming procedure. My parents left the country shortly that morning.

During the afternoon, I went to speak with the attendant, who claimed that we would be able to claim it back online, even though our insurance was with goldCar. The rental office personnel gave me blank stares, while the head office simply told me that they would look into it.

Following our departure from Malta, we have been in constant contact with the Malta Office. We have got them to admit that we had super relax cover insurance, However, they are still refusing to return the deposit, on the technicality that I did not get a police report, despite him calling them and confirming that it wasn’t necessary after spotting the damage.

I’m extremely distressed about this situation and in case I cannot reclaim the charged amount as promised by GoldCar, I will pursue action with the European Consumer Protection Agency.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 05, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
4.0
Location Convenience 
 
2.5
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.0

Rip Off Make Money From Issues With Car

Gold Car Rental
Triq Is-Siggiewi Qrendi
QRN5632
+356 77067659 / +356 99514303

Good Afternoon,
On the 19th June 2017 at 21:10:14 at Malta International Airport we received a hire car booking ref number (B11222626). The hire car we received was not of the standard that we were expecting, the car provided was a Peugeot 107 Hatchback, plate number KQZ549.
On signing for said car we were told and on the website showed us that we had the following cover:-
• Unlimited mileage
• Local taxes
• Insurance (Third Party Liability, Collision Damage Waiver, Theft Protection)
• Airport Surcharge
We found the Goldcar hire pick up point and waited patiently, after a while we were directed to the car and then had to approach the Goldcar members of staff to complete the paper work.
When the Goldcar member of staff approached the car with myself he apologised about the car being dirty, this was a understatement. We had to ask if the said car could be moved from the parking bay due to poor lighting from the bottom third of the car park, up to the middle, where the lighting was still poor. We were told by the Goldcar member of staff that we could move the car if we wanted too, as he walked away from ourselves to talk to one of his colleagues, leaving us to move the car alone.
On inspection we found that the car was extremally dirty (inside and out) which the Goldcar member of staff admitted to and stated it had been raining, but did nothing to resolve the problem. On inspection of the car we found it hard to check the car thoroughly due to the inadequate lighting. The Goldcar member of staff repeatedly stated that scratches under 3cm did not need to be recorded, but didn’t seem to make any effort in pointing out errors or marks that he would recommend being marked down, or had previous paperwork with all the damage on.
Over all we recorded that:-
• all the hood caps had damage to them
• damage on the left front bumper
• scrapes and marks on the left hand side between the doors
• damage to the rear left door panel
• the rear left wing/bumper had damage to it, only noticed due to a screw holding it in place
• damage to right front wing
• right front door had scratches on
• the right rear door had a scratch and the panel had been sprayed to cover some sort of work in a matt paint instead of gloss (poorly completed)
• damage to front left bumper
• left middle door
• left rear door
• left rear panel
• Inside and Outside of car-extremely dirty

From the list above and the attached photographs in Annex A, the car had considerable damage all over on most panels.
We were not happy with the standard and state of the car, but it seemed drivable and for the cost it was reasonable, so we accepted the vehicle as it was late at night and we had a one hour commute to the hotel and it seemed that all the complaining would have not been taken seriously.
On return of the hire car on the 26th June 2017, in day light we were met by the Carpark Manager Marpiu Cachis on handing over the car he took considerable more attention to the car now we were returning it compared to the person who had issued us the car. He was more polite than the previous person, that had issued us the car and asked if there had been any problems. We replied ‘yes’ as the rear left wing/bumper that was held on with a screw had come loose, but there had been no other issues with the rental car.
On his inspection he noticed that there was a dent to the front left wing which we had not noticed in the poor light conditions and through the dirt on the evening we initially received it. Therefore this had not been annotated on the Vehicle Condition Report Form and we had not been given a copy of the paperwork of the car and as it was dark we were unable to take adequate photos of the cars condition either to contest this argument.
We did state on return that the car was in a dilapidated condition when we received the car and that it was filthy (inside and out). Marpiu Cachis categorically stated that the cars do not leave here in that state and are all cleaned prior to being hired out- so why wasn’t this one?.
He then stated that this dent should have been seen on the car and marked down on the form and that we had damaged the vehicle, which is completely untrue. I can state that if we had damaged the vehicle, we would have owned up to it when he first asked, but we had received the vehicle in such a state in extremely poor lighting conditions that we had not noticed it and neither had the Goldcar member of staff. He replied by saying that he could see it in day light and we should of seen it at night under the lights. We argued to no avail that this was unreasonable as we both struggled to see the dent in day light unless you stood at the front of the car looking down the side for the dent.
He stated that every car is photographed on return, but over the course of 60minutes myself and partner did not see a single vehicle being photographed when returned, however 3 Goldcar vehicles were returned and not photographed. We asked to see the photos of when we picked up the car and the previous Vehicle Condition Report Form but we were told that the office was shut. I requested to speak to the Manager and to the person that initially issued the car, but all of these things where not available to us at that time.
The carpark manager informed us that we would have to pay the excess of the claim working out to be 682.04 euros which included two days loss of car hire for the damage that we did not do to the car and which was already present on the car. We asked what the process was to dispute this as we know we are not to blame for the damage to the car. We were informed that we had to pay the excess of 682.04 and claim back through our insurance. We then asked what happens if we did not pay the excess. The carpark manager then informed that if we didn’t pay the 682.04 euros that we would lose the full 1350 euros secured against the car, but on return to the office he would look at the photos and if he does see the dent he would refund us the 682.04 euros.
I also asked Marpiu Cachis why all of the other damage hadn’t been fixed to the vehicle even though customers must have been charged previously to damage, he replied that fixing the vehicles took time. So why after the alleged damage are customers charged for loss of rental costs but the vehicles are still then issued with damage on them like ours?
I am now requesting to see the photos of the condition of the vehicle that he stated where taken before we rented this vehicle and the completed work that we have been charged for as I believe that this is completely unfair sum that we have been charged as per item may not be a genuine estimate of the company's loss and could be challenged under the Unfair Terms in Consumer Contract Regulations 1999.
On returning to the UK we have made numerous attempts to contact Goldcar rental on + 356 77067659/ +356 99514303 to resolve this to no avail, resulting in this said email.
I can be contacted on the above contact number and email address.
I would like a reply within the next 14 working days, with the photographic evidence of the hire car on collection as was stated would be available by your member of staff, a pervious Vehicle Condition Report Forms detailing no damage of the said right wing area of the car but as you can see this is the left wing he has highlighted has new damage on but has would not listen to use.
If nether of this information is not available in the way of the photographic evidence or a previous Vehicle Condition Report Form, I would like photographic proof that the hire car has been fixed, with costing of said work that we have been charged for.

How can they replace there hire car fleet with 70% new when we got this car
(Peugeot 107, Reg KQZ 549)


Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear Danial539,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

Please note that your case is a highly unusual situation. Therefore we invite you to open a query here: https://www.goldcar.es/en/incidencias/. Our customer service department will deal with your case directly.

Regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
3.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
5.0

GoldCar Malta (Int Airport) Scammed/overCharged For Damages.

Goldcar Car Hire (Malta Int Airport)

Beware they're crooks and they make their money from scamming people for extortionate prices. If you've already booked with them and don't want to cancel as there is a high fee make sure to take pictures of the car before hand and a videos is a must! don't make my mistake. When i returned the car i admit i had a slight scratch (just a scratch no dents etc) on the front bumper, i had got charged 440 euros for this on top off, 130 damage admin fee and 80 euros for the cars being out of service for 2 days (i showed the picture to a local garage and they said they would charge no more than 80 euros to fix) on top of this there was a scratch on the passenger side wing wirror, i'm pretty sure it was there before i picked up the car, me and my friends did not know about it untill we dropped the car off, so that's 220 euro added to the damages, all in all totaling up to 1000 euros! I was upset about this but was re-insured again and again by the goldcar hire workers when i returned the car im fully covered from the insurance company i booked through with (argus car hire) that i wouldn't have to pay a penny along as the excess is under 1400 euros im covered for all this, they explained the process of sending them the reciepts, the forms, the links you go on etc. So i signed for the damages based on this and got my flight back home. Then phoned up the insurance company only to find they've lied! im covered for anything over 1400 euros anything under that i have to pay, so i paid for everything, really not happy as i wouldn't off signed for the damages otherwise as i admit the scratch was mine i should only of paid 220 euros on that on top of fees (that's still expensive) but the fact i forked out a 1000 euros for the damage done is a joke, im suprised this company is still going, they're con artists and I don't know how they get away with it, they've got it down to an art.

Other things to mention

• When I picked up the car I was given no diagram of the car to mark out any signs of damages (I was unaware about this until my parents lectured me on it when I arrived back home, I'm 21). they simply started up the car for me and told me to walk around the car for signs of damages, at the time I couldn’t see any damages.

• The car I requested on Argus was a Opel Astra, the car I got was a Peugeot 2008 SUV, a much bigger car then expected (not great for driving in narrow streets in Malta like silema and Valletta)

• GoldCar Rentals Malta, google reviews, are really bad, a lot of people have been scammed out there money with similar stories.

• I could not find an email directly locating to Goldcar Rentals, I did find an email supposedly directed to their CEO… I sent them an email explaining the situation and that I wasn’t happy, they replied back to me saying they are looking into it and investigating it, which is weird cause they never asked for a pacific car details such as the number plate or customer code or even my name, anything like that, so how can they identify the car/incident?

(they also give you super relax cover or something stupid where if you have any damages to the car, ring them or report it within an hour or the cover is void, this is a con, the contract as a whole is a con with unfair terms, but they know you are not likely to cancel when reading through it or not sign it as there is a 50 euro cancellation fee i belive so you go ahead and sign the contract with rubbish terms).

Best bet, pay extra for a more reputable car hire company.

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear customer,

Thanks for your comment. We're trying to improve our services and the opinion of customers is essential to do so.

Please contact us directly from our Customer Service system through the following link: https://www.goldcar.es/en/atencionCliente/ at the bottom right of our website, you can submit a query.

Kind regards,

Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
4.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.5
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.0

AVOID AT ALL COSTS

Hello everyone. If you are informing yourself before renting I have only one advice to you and it is to stay away from this company. I was so disappointed with the service, the car and the actual insurance scam they force on you. But those aren't even the worst parts, the car they rented us was in absolutely no condition to be on roads. Here is a brief list of things that we noticed about the car about 5-10 minutes after leaving the airport: -Both of the side view mirrors could not change positions unless manually forced because they had been previously broken. -The reservoir was less than half full (when we had paid for it to be a full tank) -One of the headlights was burnt out (or non-existent). -There was no windshield wiper liquid. -The clutch was overly used and could barely change -Passenger outside front body had bumps and huge scrapes on it. The door made noise when we opened it. -The mileage stated in the car was MUCH more than the one stated on the paperwork. -The carpets on the ground were ripped. For a full review of our HORRIBLE experience please see our review on our website : https://thegoodbears.com/goldcar-rentals This is far from being a single incident and it is obvious that this "company" is a scam. Do not be fooled by the apparent good deals.

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Hello Gabrielle,

We are surprised to hear that the vehicle you were given was not in optimal condition. Offering top rate vehicles is our number one priority, which is why 70% of our car fleet is renewed annually. We do think that the office sold out all the cars and maybe decided to use a older one. However this is extremly unusual.

I hope you understand.

Thank you,
Regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 09, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
1.5
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
2.0
Location Convenience 
 
2.5
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.0

BEWARE of renting from Gold Car in Malta

Stay AWAY from renting any cars with Gold Car in Malta. When we returned the car to the Malta Airport location, there were 3 people ahead of us that were returning their cars. ALL OF THEM - and I mean ALL OF THEM were charged fees due to supposed car damage. The folks in front of us had to fork over the equivalent of $700 and then we got hit with $500. It seems to be how they make their money, hitting you with bogus charges. They may come up the cheapest car rental when you search, but believe me, you'll wind up paying extra in the end. NOT WORTH THE TIME OR MONEY!

Service

Comments
This is in response to the "Victoria R." Gold Car Representative. Unfortunately, my case is not a highly unusual situation. Read the hundreds of negative reviews Gold Car is receiving. Maybe the very fact that you feel my case is unusual is why Gold Car is so inept and a disaster. Gold Car should be investigated for rip off tactics and for fleecing unsuspecting customers when they turn in their cars. This is how you are really making your money, by charging outlandish fees for damage that doesn't exist, and then holding the customers hostage until they pay. Most of us return our cars at the airport location so we have planes to catch and don't have time to deal with your ignorant staff. I hope my review goes a long way to help steer others away from ever dealing with Gold Car. You are not worth the headache!
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear TaraMann2016,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

Please note that your case is a highly unusual situation. Therefore we invite you to open a query here: https://www.goldcar.es/en/incidencias/. Our customer service department will deal with your case directly.

Regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
View all Verified Renter Reviews

Unverified Renter Reviews

32 reviews

View all reviews View most helpful
Already have an account?
Ratings
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup
0 --> 10,000 miles/km = 5 stars 10,001 --> 20,000 = 4.5 stars 20,001 --> 30,000 = 4 stars 30,001 --> 40,000 = 3.5 stars 40,001 --> 50,000 = 3 stars 50,001 --> 60,000 = 2.5 stars 60,001 --> 70,000 = 2 stars 70,001 --> 80,000 = 1.5 stars 80,001 --> 90,000 = 1 star 90,001+ = 0.5 stars
Location Convenience
How easy was it to find and get to the location to pick up and drop off the car
Staff / Quality of Service
How were you treated? Consider knowledge, professionalism, friendliness, attitude, language skills
Vehicle Condition - Outside
Consider any damage, overall condition and cleanliness and any safety issues eg. Tyre wear
Vehicle Condition - Inside
Consider any damage, overall condition and cleanliness / odor
Comments
Service
You will be able to upload photos and video right after you submit your review if you wish.

We value your contribution and particularly your privacy. We will not rent or sell your email address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

BDS
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
3.0
Location Convenience 
 
4.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
4.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.0

Unauthorized Charge

I just received an unauthorized charge of £22.50 on my credit card today 26 Feb 17 - I hired a car with full Gold package in Malta in November 2016 - everything was paid and the car was returned and accepted back by member of staff with full tank of petrol. No email address is on website and phones are not answered - I have told my bank to refuse and reject this charge but can you Gold Cars advise what its all about please ? Thank you

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Dear BDS,

Please take into consideration to contact with us directly through our Customer Service system so we can look into this on the following link by sending us a query on the bottom right of our website: https://www.goldcar.es/en/atencionCliente/

Kind regards,
Victoria R,
Goldcar Representative.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
1.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.0

Poor Victoria

Poor Viktoria. She need an analist after work....

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
4.0
Location Convenience 
 
4.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
4.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
4.0

Terrible Service

Imagine arriving in a foreign country and your first experience of speaking to a local is the hire car company whom I might add are getting your custom. Goldcar staff at the airport seemed to completely indifferent at best and rude at worst to the level of service they gave. Upon requesting my car the tried to sell me insurance. When I declined they started talking to me in a rude and abrupt manner to such an extent I decided that in fact I do not want to proceed with the rental any more. They then said they would charge me 69EUROS for cancelling for something I had already paid for. I had to take the car in the end. A car I might add was a plastered with their slogans and stickers all over it. In summary, a terrible experience with the staff, poor car and put an all rounder dampener right at the start of the holiday. Such a shame.

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Hello Ikon,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the rest of the community.

We are an international company with more than 80 offices worldwide and our aim is to offer our clients the best car rental solutions. All our staff is trained so we are very surprised. We will make sure to speak to them and avoid this in the future.

Thank you.

Regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
4.0
Location Convenience 
 
4.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.5

Disgusting company and will ruin your holiday.

My boyfriend and I are 22 and wanted to rent a car. Normally most car companies charge a bit extra for being under 25 but we searched all over the website and contract and could not find an extra charge so we were chuffed. Wrong! extra €80 when we get there. an extra €250 for not having a credit card but having a visa and insurance, even though there was a box we ticked that claimed it included insurance for an extra £30. After getting over all of this and going home, a cheeky extra $180 came up on our bank accounts. After a lot of e-mails and time, they say it's because of 2 tickets. So rude they didn't e-mail us this at the time and just took our money, leaving us to waste our time finding out. The desk guy treated us like idiots with a sarcastic tone. We paid a lot more for one car than both of our flights including returns. Sneaky company and if you challenge them you will get a 'well it's in the contract' answer. If you don't want to ruin your holiday, stay away from this company. The outside of the car was quite bashed. Ok we weren't charged for that but its great to know if you bash the car they will take your money and not repair the car and just give it to the next customer.

Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Hello Jamieson,

After reading your review we understand that you have made tthe reservation via a third party company.

On our website, customers can choose to add the extra for the young driver and also we clearly explain the booking conditions.

As for the extra 180€, if they where because of some fines we have received, we always send an email with the copy of the fines.

Please contact us if you need further information on this.

Thank you.
Regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
3.5
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.5

Avoid this company like the plague

My daughter used this company last week and it seems like the norm on reading these reviews that on return the company say there is some damage to the car. She took photographs and there was no damage but they have charged her £800! The company needs investigating 

Service

Comments
The man on the gold car desk was very rude to my daughter as the booking had to be changed due to unforeseen circumstances. Very unhelpful
Owner's reply
VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service VictoriaR - Goldcar Customer Service

Hello Garnett,

Please note that if we have found damages that were not there upon collection of the car. All the damages have to be marked by the angent and confirmed and signed by the client.

If you have pictures proving otherwise please contact us via https://www.goldcar.es/en/atencionCliente/ and we will look into it and assist you.

Thank you.

Regards,
Victoria R.
Goldcar representative

Was this review helpful to you? 
View all Unverified Renter Reviews