Sixt Car Rental - Tel Aviv Ben Gurion International Airport - TLV - Israel

AirportSixt Car Rental - Tel Aviv Ben Gurion International Airport - TLV - Israel

 
1.7 (4) Verified Renter Rating®
 
1.8 (2) Unverified Renter Rating

Details

Address
Tel Aviv International Airport
Ben Gurion Arrival Hall
Tel Aviv - Israel
Postcode
70100
Country
Israel
Phone
+972-8-919153
Latitude
32.011389
Longitude
34.886667
Airport Service
On Airport - Counter & Car in Terminal

Hours

Monday
Open 24 Hours
Tuesday
Open 24 Hours
Wednesday
Open 24 Hours
Thursday
Open 24 Hours
Friday
Open 24 Hours
Saturday
Open 24 Hours
Sunday
Open 24 Hours
Public Holidays
Open 24 Hours

Currency/Tax/Deposit

Currency
ILS - Israeli New Shekel

Vehicles/Fuel

Fuel Policy
Full to Full
Swap Start/End

Verified Renter reviews ®

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
1.7
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.8
Location Convenience 
 
2.3
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.8
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
2.0
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
1.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.0

Shlomo Sixt NO! Never Again!

This review is not just for one location. It is about the Shlomo Sixt company all together.
I visit Israel quite often with my family. We rent a car every time. This year, 2017 we used Shlomo Sixt, because they were the cheapest. And the cheapest they were. The car we were given was very dirty. We asked for a replacement, they didn't have any except once are smaller in size. We had to take the dirty and all badly scratched up one. They did not accept our credit card warranty coverage and forced us to purchase the Israeli mandatory insurance. While using the car, we noticed that it was very poorly maintained. The battery died at one point and we got stranded in the desert heat for an hour. When we called the Sixt for help, they said the help will be in between 1 and 3 hours. In about an hour we got a jump-start from a driving by person. Right after that we got a call back from the Sixt to arrange the service we no longer needed. We returned the car at a very same day. During our possession of the car, somebody hit it to the rear bumper while it was parked over night, and made a dent on the corner of the plastic. I could have it fixed for between $50 and $200.00 depending on the quality of the repair. I figured I would rather pay it to the rental place then wasting my vacation time on it. Shlomo Sixt charged me full deductible of $438.00. I'm sure they are going to fix it for $50.00 and give this P.O.S. to another "looser" like me. Other rental companies wouldn't even say anything about damage like this. Stay away from Shlomo Sixt. May be other companies charge a little more money, but at the end you will save rather then loose with Shlomo.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
1.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
1.0

horrible car rental, totally negligent

I had bad luck renting a car from sixt shlomo in tel aviv airport, Israel.

First they denied I have a reservation and we're trying to charge me three times more than in my reservation I made.

Finally, When I protested, they rented me a car that was not checked out by them and when I was out of the airport, I realized that the drivers window was open. I could not close it because the handle was removed and there was a button installed instead.

I had no choice but to drive more than 50 km to my Jerusalem hotel with an open window . My wife and I got sick with bronchitis. When the hotel front desk called them and informed them of the window problem, four hours later they sent a replacement car, but refused to accept responsibility for our inconveniences and getting sick. They refused to give me credit or reimburse me for my inconveniences and medical expenses.

They have a total disregard for safety of customers.

By the way, the second car would not start, so I had to wait another four hours for a third car. My whole vacation was ruined.

It is a shame that sixt shlomo is using the name sixt.

They don't deserve it.

When I rented a car from sixt in Malaga Spain, I was very happy.

Stay away from sixt shlomo in Israel. They are negligent , careless and fraudsters.

Service

Mentionable Staff
Eli Elias, manager, rude, nasty, person, totally disregarding customer's concerns and complaints.
Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 22, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
2.0
Location Convenience 
 
4.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
2.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.0

Bad experience with Shlomo Sixt

Sadly, I must add my experience to the one listed above. When I returned my car a broken light was "discovered" of which I was unaware. I was agressively told to sign a blank document, which I refused, and when I refuted the Sixt representative's shouted claim that "you broke it" by calmly explaining that it may have happened during my hire, but I did not break it, I was told to "stop being a child" (I am a fifty-year old grandfather and do not expect to be called a child). Further abuse hurled at me left me close to tears.

To give some credit, when I emailed the customer service address there was a speedy initial response, but the follow-up was nothing more than a refund of $28 for the "inconvenience", accompanied by an bill of 750 shekels for a minor repair (with the comment that "it's not a lot of money").

When I posted this experience on another forum, a Customer service manager immediately posted, asking for my details so he could be in touch and sort this out. He sent me a number of emails saying that he wanted to be in touch - but actually never was. Instead he complained about me, with assorted untruths about his response, on the forum.

I certainly will not be using or recommending Sixt again.

My Response to the Owner's Reply

Date of Reply
February 23, 2015
Comments
Boaz - thanks for your standard reply. You made the same offer when I posted on another site. Your expressed desire to "contact me and sort it out" actually meant that your colleague, who had originally told me that there would be a charge of NIS 750 for fixing a light called me again, to aggressively say that the charge stood, and then you emailed to say that that was the equivalent of you calling me. You also defamed me repeatedly on the site and in private messages to other posters, and ignored my lawyers request for evidence to back up your defamatory assertions, that you were obliged to provide me with under Israeli law.

So Boaz, I'm not very impressed by your offer to help me now. Nor, apparently, are the others who have complained here about Shlomo Sixt. I think the overwhelming number of negative reviews, accusing Sixt of bad service or ever theft, speak for themselves.
Owner's reply
Boaz Yacobi - Manager of Tourism at Shlomo Sixt Boaz Yacobi - Manager of Tourism at Shlomo Sixt

if you can address your complaint with details to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., I can find the specific case number and take care of it. Thank you so much and I apologize for your inconvenience. Boaz.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
3.0
Location Convenience 
 
3.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
3.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.0

Do Not Rent from Shlomo/Sixt

Do not rent from Shlomo/Sixt in Israel. I rented a car for more than two weeks. When I returned the car at the airport, the car was in good condition and the gas was full. However, I was told the car would have to undergo a "special wash" because of bird droppings on the rear of the car. In any other country I have rented a car--Australia, England, Ireland, Kenya--bird droppings are considered part of normal use. However, the manager at the Shlomo/Sixt branch at the Ben-Gurion airport, Mr. Eli Elias, insisted on charging me a "special wash" cost in the amount of 100 sheqels. I objected and refused to sign off on this charge. Mr. Elias then refused to allow me, my wife, and our young daughter to board the Shlomo/Sixt shuttle to the airport to catch our flight. Because we had no choice, we signed. I complained in writing to Shlomo/Sixt customer service and received a response containing profanity, assuring me that they could have charged me 250 sheqels but did me a favor by not doing so, and additionally had determined--after the car was already returned--that the gas was not full and would be adding on yet another charge. (I was told by their representative agent (Ronnie Frinkelberg) upon returning the car that the gas was full.) The Ben-Gurion airport branch of Shlomo/Sixt and its customer service are *NOT* to be trusted. I have instituted a complaint with the Israeli consumer protection authorities and will update this post.

Owner's reply
Boaz Yacobi - Manager of Tourism at Shlomo Sixt Boaz Yacobi - Manager of Tourism at Shlomo Sixt

I am terribly sorry to hear about this situation, this is not the way we operte. I would love to investigate and clear your negative feeling and exeprience aboout the event.

Was this review helpful to you? 

Unverified Renter Reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
1.8
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
1.5
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
2.5
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.5
Already have an account?
Ratings
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup
0 --> 10,000 miles/km = 5 stars 10,001 --> 20,000 = 4.5 stars 20,001 --> 30,000 = 4 stars 30,001 --> 40,000 = 3.5 stars 40,001 --> 50,000 = 3 stars 50,001 --> 60,000 = 2.5 stars 60,001 --> 70,000 = 2 stars 70,001 --> 80,000 = 1.5 stars 80,001 --> 90,000 = 1 star 90,001+ = 0.5 stars
Location Convenience
How easy was it to find and get to the location to pick up and drop off the car
Staff / Quality of Service
How were you treated? Consider knowledge, professionalism, friendliness, attitude, language skills
Vehicle Condition - Outside
Consider any damage, overall condition and cleanliness and any safety issues eg. Tyre wear
Vehicle Condition - Inside
Consider any damage, overall condition and cleanliness / odor
Comments
Service
You will be able to upload photos and video right after you submit your review if you wish.

We value your contribution and particularly your privacy. We will not rent or sell your email address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Overall rating 
 
1.6
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
2.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
3.0

Zero customer service. Empty promises. Beware

I BOOKED MY RESERVATION THROUGH THE NEW YORK OFFICE. I DEAL WITH THIS COMPANY EVERY YEAR AND THIS YEAR THEY COMPLETELY LOST THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND LIED TO ME ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THEY OVER CHARGED ME FOR A SMALL VEHICLE AND WHEN I WANTED TO UPGRADE TO A VEHICLE THEY PROMISED ME, THEY DECIDED TO CHARGE ME $85 A DAY FOR A MAZDA 5, WHEN EVERY YEAR PRIOR I PAID $49 THEY WERE RUDE, CARELESS AND PRACTICALLY TOLD ME TO GO TO HELL AND FIND ANOTHER COMPANY. THEY LITERALLY TOOK MY CAR AWAY AND TOLD ME THEY WILL NOT RENT ME ANOTHER CAR AFTER I THREATENED THEM WITH A DISPUTE ON THE CHARGES. BOTTOM LINE FIND ANOTHER COMPANY WHO KNOWS HOW TO APPRECIATE THEIR CUSTOMERS. 

Service

Mentionable Staff
CUSTOMER CARE TEAM
Comments
SHLOMO SIXT IS A RIP OFF. THEY ALWAYS HAVE AN ANSWER FOR EVERY COMPLAINT YOU HAVE AND THEY REFUSE TO HELP YOU AND MAKE YOU HAPPY AND SATISFIED
EVEN IF YOU HAVE TO PAY HIGHER ELSE WHERE DO IT THEY HAVE ZERO CUSTOMER SERVICE
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.1
Miles/Kilometres on Pickup 
 
1.0
Location Convenience 
 
1.0
Staff / Quality of Service 
 
1.0
Vehicle Condition - Outside 
 
4.0
Vehicle Condition - Inside 
 
4.0

Just the opposite of their motto

Very poor service. I reserved a child's car seat and a gps they had neither. When I asked why, the response was first come first serve.
The security code I was given was wrong so I called them. (The security code is a code to start the car). It took getting hung up on 7 times before getting through. They gave me a second code, it too did not work. Finally after most of the day was over I walked to the rental office. They said they could not help me unless I brought the car to them. So I put the key on the counter and said I was done. At that point they said ok we will find you someone to get the car started. A manager comes to take me to the car. On the way to the car he tells me, "you know it's not the car that is the problem. It is the person trying to drive it that is the problem". We get to the car he puts a completely different code in. Btw they charged me almost twice what they quoted online.

Was this review helpful to you?